create
counter

Blog Tour: ‘Yesterday’ by C. K. Kelly Martin Review and Giveaway

Blog Tour: ‘Yesterday’ by C. K. Kelly Martin Review and Giveaway

I received this book for free from blog tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: ‘Yesterday’ by C. K. Kelly Martin Review and GiveawayYesterday by C. K. Kelly Martin
Published by Doubleday Canada on September 25th, 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover
Source: blog tours
four-stars
THEN: The formation of the UNA, the high threat of eco-terrorism, the mammoth rates of unemployment and subsequent escape into a world of virtual reality are things any student can read about in their twenty-first century textbooks and part of the normal, background noise to Freya Kallas' life. Until that world starts to crumble.

NOW: It's 1985. Freya Kallas has just moved across the world and into a new life. On the outside, she fits in at her new high school, but Freya feels nothing but removed. Her mother blames it on the grief of her father's death, but how does that explain the headaches and why do her memories feel so foggy? When Freya lays eyes on Garren Lowe, she can't get him out of her head. She's sure that she knows him, despite his insistence that they've never met. As Freya follows her instincts and pushes towards hidden truths, the two of them unveil a strange and dangerous world where their days may be numbered. Unsure who to trust, Freya and Garren go on the run from powerful forces determined to tear them apart and keep them from discovering the truth about their shared pasts (and futures), her visions, and the time and place they really came from.Yesterday will appeal to fans of James Dashner's The Maze Runner, Veronica Roth's Divergent, Amy Ryan's Glow, Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and Ally Condie's Matched.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

yesterday_ck-kelly-martin_all

So many amazing futuristic technological advances in this one that my mind was spinning. I love how creative some authors can be and C.K. Kelly Martin is no exception. It starts of in the year 2077. There is biotechnology that has eradicated cancer, diabetes, Alzheimer’s and even AIDS. Life expectancy is over a hundred years old, limbs can be repaired, heart attacks and strokes prevented. Virtual reality is embedded without a screen where citizens can experience games, stories and even sexual experiences called mashing. (Um yes those mashing scenes popped up in the book! I’m not too sure if this is YA appropriate because the sex scenes are pretty hot and heavy! Just warning you all there are some steamy scenes in here.)

yesterday_ck-kelly-martin_title

Then the reader is whipped back to 1985, where the eighties are back in full force. I can understand why Freya is whipped back into the past, because we have to find out what happened in the past, in order to understand the future, and yes all the pieces are pulled together in the end.

Such a lovely moment to read a character’s setting and actually know where she’s going. Yes, this is set in Toronto, and I actually pictured what downtown Toronto would have looked like back in the nineteen-eighties. (I always get a little thrill when the books I’m reading are Canadian. Gives me a little surge of pride.)

yesterday_ck-kelly-martin_first-page

I wasn’t a big fan of how the book ended. I’m always a sucker for a killer climatic ending, but this one fell a little short. My questions were answered but I guess I wasn’t satisfied with the answers.


quotes

My body feels like a constellation, like a hundred stars glittering in the darkness.
I was dreaming they were taking you and that I couldn’t stop them. I never want to feel like that again.
I love that he’s the kind of person ago has always wanted to help make the world a better place.

contest giveaway

Rules and Regulations

  • Ends on October 20th, 2012 at 12:01AM EST
  • Canadian residents only
  • Canada Post will be the used to ship the prize. I will not be responsible for lost or damaged packages.
  • Total prize value is approx $19 CAD
  • The winner will be announced on Twitter
  • Promoted via ContestCanada.net



rating

4/5

four-stars

19 Comments

  1. leannessf

    October 19, 2012 at 6:07 PM

    Definitely a car and some sort of communication device (maybe some built-in telepathy?)!

    Thanks,
    Leanne

  2. Wayne Lecoy

    October 19, 2012 at 6:49 AM

    Please Enter Me In Your Book Giveaway.
    It Would Be Great To Win A Hardcover Copy Of Yesterday By C.K. Kelly Martin.
    In Response To Your Question Of
    If you lived in the year 2077, what technological gadget would you still use? (i.e. computer, cell, car, etc..)
    I Would Still Be Using My Computer.
    Thank You For Having This Giveaway!!!!!!!!!

  3. Marlene V

    October 16, 2012 at 9:58 PM

    I would think still computers

  4. kelly b

    October 16, 2012 at 7:06 PM

    My laptop

  5. Carrie

    October 15, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    I’m pretty sure I’d be using a tablet

  6. Carole Dube

    October 14, 2012 at 11:30 PM

    I will still use the computer.

  7. Tiff @ Escaping... One Book @ a Time

    October 14, 2012 at 7:27 PM

    I would say computer or IPad they are both semi life lines

  8. Garnet Leib

    October 14, 2012 at 8:34 AM

    My computer! Can’t live without it!

  9. Stella C

    October 13, 2012 at 4:08 PM

    I think I would still like to have my computer. It’s the love of my life.

  10. Vesper

    October 12, 2012 at 8:37 AM

    I expect to still be using a computer in some form

  11. Erika

    October 11, 2012 at 9:49 AM

    Probably a computer or my ereader:)

  12. Kelly

    October 8, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    I imagine I’d still be using some version of a computer. But it would probably be embedded in my brain or something by then!

  13. Jessica

    October 5, 2012 at 3:06 PM

    I would probably still be wanting to be using my Mac

  14. Sarah O

    October 5, 2012 at 2:00 AM

    Definitely my cell phone. It’s like a phone and computer all in one. I’m assuming that fb and twitter type websites are still relevant then.

  15. Jolene A

    September 30, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    My cell!! The thing is attatched to my hip 🙂

  16. Kimmie

    September 30, 2012 at 1:07 AM

    I would be using my cell phone..iphone22 maybe..LOL or my laptop. It’s really difficult to choose just one.

  17. Zara Alexis

    September 30, 2012 at 12:30 AM

    Knowing me, I’d still probably used my vintage 70’s rotary phone! I have two! 😀 Thanks for the giveaway, Giselle.

  18. Grace Lo

    September 28, 2012 at 10:22 PM

    My laptop. If I could marry it, I would.
    Okay, I wouldn’t. But I have all my files saved on it, and it’s just a fantastic tool to use no matter what.

  19. Fiery Na

    September 28, 2012 at 2:20 AM

    I would still be using a computer. I would use to search the internet, find out about books and read blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: