create
counter

Recap + Movie Review: ‘Beautiful Creatures’ Advance Screening

happy-valentines-day-2013_main

Happy Valentine’s Day Book Nerds!

Hope you’re all having a wonderful
Valentine’s Day with all your loved ones…

Here’s my recap and movie review of the Beautiful Creatures Advance Screening all rolled into one.

My awesome bookish friend Melissa and I drove down together which was a lot of fun because we took side roads to get there passing by High Park was a bonus! Got there at exactly 6pm on the dot and met my blogger bestie Siobhan!

movie-review-recap_beautiful-creatures-advance-screening_cards

 

They had a table where you have to show your pass, then gave us real tickets. I wasn’t surprised they beefed up the security to this screening. There were guards checking (for weapons?!) and checking purses and even asked what were in my pockets. Kind of glad they did since The Dark Knight shooting, I’ve literally stopped going to the theaters..  Anyways, I finally got in and found they were doing sampling for Pür Minerals, The Cupcake Girls and Shoppers Drug Mart Optimum card sign-ups. I bypassed the makeup, but I did grab a mini cupcake. (They’re the Cupcake Girls with the show on the W Network 🙂

I found Christa and Siobhan easily enough then got popcorn and a drink. But as soon as I plopped down into my seat, I saw someone I knew. Joanna from Vervegirl! I caught her in time, and proceeded to chat with her and the Vervegirl ladies. How I’ve missed them so 🙂 So nice to catch up with them. I’m also working on some projects with them for the blog, so I’m hoping it’ll work out. fingers crossed


 Movie Review

I started reading this before the movie and I only got 1/4 in the novel because it was soo slow.. SO achingly slow that I actually stopped reading. My review might be biased because I haven’t read the full novel, BUT you may also argue that it’s NOT biased since I’m not comparing it to the book. (I think I just confused myself..)

The setting in South Carolina was just as gorgeous as I thought it would be. Location scouts you did your jobs well!

Emma Thompson is a BRILLIANT actress. She is a genius at creating a character that is not only insanely crazy, but also evil. The scene in the church with Macon. Yes so so so bloody brilliant! Loved her in Harry Potter, and loved her even more in this movie franchise. I will watch it again just so I can watch her incredible acting skills on the screen. She stole the spotlight and rightly so.

movie-review-recap_beautiful-creatures-advance-screening_header

Ethan was also another wonderful actor. Hilarious and full of humour. Southern gentleman to a perfect tee. And Lena was a great addition as the love interest to Ethan. Her moody, yet defensive attitude towards him in the beginning was just as it was in the book. You can see their characters grow a lot during the course of the movie, and I love it when they realize their true potential.

The pacing was pretty slow in this movie, and not a lot happens unfortunately. There are some wonderful scenes especially the dinner scene. The spinning table was an interesting choice of prop to use to show power, but I also felt it could have been handle a lot better. I can absolutely applaud the set designers because Macon Ravenwood’s home was done up so well.

RATING 3/5

Book Nerd asks, “Will you see Beautiful Creatures in theatres?”

27 Comments

  1. Pingback: Book Haul: Stacking the Shelves #39 – Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea Edition

  2. Applause. (@RenzRupert)

    August 27, 2013 at 6:39 AM

    I’ve seen the movie! It was really good but I think I’m still not satisfied.

  3. Tina

    July 9, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    I didn’t enjoy the book, so I decided to not spend the money for the movie 🙁

  4. Diana Grace

    May 16, 2013 at 8:08 PM

    I loved the book but I’m not so sure about the movie… I have’t seen it yet but I saw some clips on youtube.
    Thanks for the post! 🙂

    – Diana @amalia_chartres

  5. Amanda D

    April 22, 2013 at 10:03 PM

    I am currently reading Beautiful Creatures. I stopped about a quarter of the way through because I thought it was slow. I want to see the movie so I started reading it again. It got better but then I had to return it to the library. Just got it back and am looking forward to finishing it. I agree that Emma Thompson is a brilliant actress and I was happy to see she is in this movie. Glad you liked the movie. I’m looking forward to seeing it.

  6. amy lovell

    April 19, 2013 at 6:51 PM

    Loved this book!

  7. Katy Lam

    March 14, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    I’m sorry to hear that there’s not many going on in the movie. But I think Beautiful Darkness will be better. I’m still struggling if I should see the movie. Maybe I will wait for the DVD or something.

  8. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    March 13, 2013 at 11:56 PM

    It seems not many people were invested into this movie. I still haven’t read the book yet, and I don’t plan to see the movie until after I do but I don’t think I’ll enjoy it as much. In my opinion, I didn’t really like who they picked for the main characters.

    I’ll probably buy it and see it.

    Thanks for sharing this! 😀

  9. Dani Warhurst

    February 24, 2013 at 10:38 AM

    Hrmm, I read the book a few years ago, but haven’t followed the series because as you said, it’s way too slow. -_-
    I was curious about the film though, but I’ll probably just wait until it’s out on DVD and rent it, since everyone I know who’s watched it said it’s pretty boring..

  10. nurmawati djuhawan

    February 21, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    i love the book and i can’t wait to see the movies ….

  11. Jolene A

    February 18, 2013 at 2:51 PM

    So sorry you didn’t finish the book. I’ve read the first two books and really enjoyed them, but I’m nervous about seeing the movie. I’ve heard other fans of the book were not real happy with some of the changes

  12. Katherina Barney

    February 18, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    Like yourself, I haven’t read any of the books. I wanted to read the book before seeing it in the theaters (which I haven’t done, yet). I’m trying to figure out if I need to read a book after the seeing the movie or just not watch the movie at all. But I also think that I might do well if I have read the book close to the movie release–that way I don’t get too attached to the book, the characters and the vision I have in my head and therefore have Hollywood ruin it. Though, to be honest the books didn’t really intrigue me, it was the movie trailers that made me want to read, which is highly unusual. Though I’m still going to read the book and then watch the movie.

  13. Lisa Richards

    February 17, 2013 at 7:27 PM

    I too didn’t especially enjoy the first book,Ii only got about 1/2 way through it. I’d hoped the movie would be fabulous so I’d have to go back and finish it.

  14. Lauren

    February 17, 2013 at 5:56 PM

    Great review! I felt the same way about Emma, I was just so impressed with her acting—she definitely steals the spotlight when she’s on camera. I agree, it did move rather slowly and I had some issues with major changes from the book, but overall I enjoyed it, mostly because of the acting and the fab costumes and sets. 🙂

  15. Carla C.

    February 17, 2013 at 8:29 AM

    My goodness, you’ve watched it already!

    I’m glad Lena is just as… *difficult* in the movie as she is in the book, it’s what I love the most about this couple, that he has to make a lot of effort to win her over.
    I can’t wait to see it, only two more weeks to go!

  16. Lily

    February 16, 2013 at 6:27 PM

    I’ve heard so many mixed things about this one but overall eveyrone’s so far said the ending was a major disapointer.

  17. Alexandra Ray

    February 16, 2013 at 10:18 AM

    OH, she’s better in here than as Trelawney?!? I must see this. I wasn’t going to because I thought it would be another typical, bad YA adaptation, and the accents were hurting my poor southern ears, but I think I’ll go see it now! Or at least watch when it comes out on DVD…

    • Giselle

      February 16, 2013 at 3:38 PM

      SO MUCH better than Professor Trelawney, if you can believe that. She’s amazingly talented. LOL I love the southern accent, and you’re right it’s not the same. I’ve been down to the south and everyone’s accents were so pretty 😀

  18. Jaime Lester

    February 15, 2013 at 11:55 PM

    3 out of 5 ain’t bad! I must admit that I am so very excited about this movie. And I live in SC so that makes it cool, too. Can’t wait for it. Thanks for the review!

  19. brandileigh2003

    February 15, 2013 at 7:19 PM

    I will probably see it. Sorry to hear it is slow though.
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  20. may

    February 15, 2013 at 5:00 PM

    I am not sure… I didn’t like the first book and found it very slow too.

    Will see the movie only when it comes out on dvd!

  21. Alyssa Susanna

    February 15, 2013 at 4:05 PM

    I’m so jealous! I need to see this movie. I haven’t read the books, but I feel like as a movie, I might enjoy it. I wish you could have enjoy them more! I still will go see the movie 😀

  22. Mariska

    February 15, 2013 at 6:20 AM

    I can’t wait to see this movie. And I hope I would like it better than you did 😀

    Mariska

  23. Anne C

    February 15, 2013 at 3:16 AM

    I haven’t read the book nor seen the film and I want to get my hands on the book first. I hope I the pacing won’t be that slow for me.

  24. Ashley @ Book Labyrinth

    February 15, 2013 at 12:52 AM

    I didn’t get through the book, either… I think if it had been shorter I could have forced my way through it, but I wasn’t even 1/3 of the way and I was so bored. I guess not every book can appeal to everyone… and in that regard I’m just not that interested in the movie, either. There seem to be mixed reviews, with some people LOVING it and other people finding it so-so.

  25. kimbacaffeinate

    February 14, 2013 at 7:14 PM

    Great review..I still need to read book..I will probably by the dvd

  26. Melissa

    February 14, 2013 at 4:04 PM

    I was planning to go see this with my hubby tonight for Valentinme’s Day…but as the book was probably only 2.5 or 3 out of 5 for me and you don’t rate the movie much better , maybe I’ll wait for DVD.

  27. Teresa Salvatore

    February 14, 2013 at 11:10 AM

    I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the book! But, admittedly, the first book is all about setting the stage for the rest of the series. I hope you pick it back up and continue with the series because it really was a great story in the end. Beautiful Chaos & Beautiful Redemption were ‘unputdownable’ for me.

    I will probably see the movie, but I don’t have I’ll be rushing out to be at the crowds. I’ll wait either for the DVD of until the hoopla dies down.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: