create
counter

Review: ‘40 Things I Want to Tell You’ by Alice Kuipers

Review: ‘40 Things I Want to Tell You’ by Alice Kuipers40 Things I Want to Tell You by Alice Kuipers
Published by HarperCollins Canada, Limited on February 10th, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 286
Format: Paperback
Source: borrowed from the library
four-stars
Amy (a.k.a. Bird) seems to have the perfect life: loving parents, a hot boyfriend, the best friend ever. She even writes an online advice column, full of Top Tips, to help other teens take control of their lives. But after a new guy shows up at school, Bird can’t seem to follow her own wisdom.

Pete is the consummate bad boy. He’s everything Bird is not: wild, unambitious and more than a little dangerous. Although she knows he’s trouble, Bird can’t stay away. And the more drawn she is to Pete, the more cracks are revealed in her relationship with Griffin, her doting boyfriend. Meanwhile, her parents’ marriage is also fracturing, possibly for good.

Bird is way out of her comfort zone. All it takes is one mistake, one momentary loss of control, for her entire future to be blown away . . .

About Alice Kuipers

ALICE KUIPERS is the author of the debut novel Life on the Refrigerator Door, an award-winning Young Adult/Adult crossover published to rave reviews in 28 countries and told entirely in post-it notes written by a mother and her daughter. Named a New York Times Book for the Teen Age, Life on the Refrigerator Door has won or been short listed for numerous prizes, including the Redbridge Book Award, the Sheffield Libraries Choice Award, the Grand Prix de Viarmes, the Saskatchewan First Book Award, the Salt Lake City County Library System Reader’s Choice Award, and the Carnegie Medal.

Alice’s second novel, The Worst Thing She Ever Did (published in the US as Lost for Words), won the 2011 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Juvenile / YA Crime Book; was short listed for the White Pine Award; and was a Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Books of the Year selection for 2011. The Worst Thing She Ever Did has been sold in 9 territories and praised as “gorgeous, heart-ripping, important” (Voices of Young Adults).

40 Things I Want To Tell You, was published in Canada by HarperCollins in 2012. The book has been praised as “funny and totally up to date” by the Canadian Review of Materials, and “crisp and effective” by the Winnipeg Free Press. Rights have been sold in Germany, Greece, Denmark and Croatia.

Her most recent YA novel, The Death of Us, came out in 2014 to great reviews. It’s been described as a quick and turbulent read, The Death of Us is a brilliant coming-of-age novel with a sharpened corkscrew of a twist that will leave readers breathless.

Alice’s debut picture book, Violet and Victor write the Best-Ever Bookworm Book, is forthcoming from Little, Brown.

Born and raised in London, England, Alice now lives in Saskatoon, Canada, with her partner, the writer Yann Martel, and their three young children.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

I had this notion that 40 Things I Want To Tell You was about a teenage overachiever who basically cheats on her boyfriend and she thinks her life is over. Well I was wrong because there was so much more to this book. Amy is your classic “do-gooder.” She’s also an honours student and is also dating her next-door neighbour and best friend Griffin. Things start to unravel in her life when gorgeous bad boy Pete walks into her history class and she starts to crush on him hard.

What I loved about this particular contemporary was that Amy doesn’t understand what she’s going through, yet she does everything in her power to fix it. She want to undo all the terrible things she has done. She’s moral and has good intentions. I didn’t like how much of a push-over she was. She needed to speak up for herself and stop trying to please everyone else. I think that was terribly difficult for Amy.

This is one contemporary read that I truly enjoy, and I’m even more proud to say the author is Canadian. Alice Kuipers has written such a realistic and touching story about a teenage girl who makes all the wrong mistakes, and has the strength to get herself out of it. Definitely a book that reminded me of my very own teen years. Great job Alice, I can’t wait to read more of your novels.


quotes

What I want is to be in love like you are. I know I’m always saying it’s fun to date different boys, but I’d love to meet someone I really like.
You think life’s so easy. Simple solutions to difficult problems. That’s always been your mistake.

rating

4/5

four-stars

34 Comments

  1. Pingback: [Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] 40 Things I Want To Tell You by Alice Kuipers | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: Book Haul: Stacking the Shelves #26 - The ‘Sever’ Edition

  3. Pingback: Book Haul: Stacking the Shelves #26 - The Sever Edition

  4. Jen

    February 19, 2014 at 11:47 AM

    I’ve been looking at this one a lot at work, but wasn’t sure if I wanted to pick it up. You’ve convinced! I’ll have to add it to my list!
    Jen recently posted…Teaser Tuesday: Ignite MeMy Profile

    • Giselle

      February 19, 2014 at 1:39 PM

      I’m so glad you’ll try it! I liked it 🙂

  5. Jaseena

    November 30, 2013 at 2:16 AM

    Awesome review ! Thanks for sharing !

  6. Jen

    November 14, 2013 at 1:12 PM

    I almost picked this up awhile ago, but I wasn’t sure about it. Sounds really satisfying though! Also glad to hear she’s Canadian.

  7. Florry D. (@florryalyna)

    November 10, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    I’m curious what are the 40 Things Amy wants to tell us.
    I like the idea of her being moral and not trying to please everyone else. She seems strong and real.

  8. unknown

    October 25, 2013 at 11:28 AM

    love the synopsis >.< Sounds great. Nice review 😀

  9. fatma shahin

    August 23, 2013 at 6:30 PM

    possibly one of the prettiestbook covers ive seen (ever) so gripping and so lovely!

  10. Diana Grace

    August 19, 2013 at 3:41 AM

    I want to read this one. Thanks for an amazing review! 🙂

  11. FJ

    June 30, 2013 at 1:16 PM

    Such a good novel 🙂

  12. Gaby

    June 23, 2013 at 5:44 PM

    This sounds like a really great read. I need to be in the right mood for books like this, but it sounds like I would enjoy it. Thanks for the lovely review.

  13. Christiane C.

    March 29, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    I have this book on my TBR and I’m actually looking forward to reading it even more thanks to your review. Thanks for the honest review 😀

  14. Christiane C.

    March 29, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    I have this book on my TBR and I’m actually looking forward to reading it even more, thanks to your review. Thanks for the honest review 😀

  15. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    March 22, 2013 at 11:53 PM

    This sounds very interesting! I really enjoy contemporary books like this and I’m glad you enjoyed it too! Adding to my TBR list!

    Awesome review! 😀

  16. Ioana S

    February 26, 2013 at 6:39 AM

    I really like your review. I haven’t read the book yet, but it’s on my to TBR list now:) Good job!

  17. Imel Cullen

    January 21, 2013 at 9:45 AM

    the title sounds interesting and when I read your review, I want to read this and nice quote too^^

  18. leighmarbella

    January 20, 2013 at 8:27 AM

    I’ve read her other book Life on the Refrigerator Door and enjoyed it. Scratch that, it made me cry. I loved that book. Anyway, haven’t heard of this one yet. Didn’t even know she had another book. Might try reading this when I get myself a copy.

  19. Sarah p

    January 19, 2013 at 4:00 PM

    Amy sounds like a character that you can really sympathize with. I will definitely be reading this one soon…its one of the 2012 releases thats been on my need to read list for a long time!Thanks for your review

  20. Jessica

    November 6, 2012 at 10:32 AM

    I was really intrigued by the cover on this one (yeah, I’m one of those people) but didn’t pick it up because I just wasn’t sure. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed it though! Helps encourage me 🙂 Also, that the author is Canadian is awesome!

  21. Dragana @ BookwormDreams

    October 30, 2012 at 2:36 AM

    Sounds interesting. I used to read only fantasy for some time but this year I developed a taste for contemporary romance too. I will give this book a try. Nice review.

  22. amel armeliana

    October 30, 2012 at 12:20 AM

    It sounds a good book. And as usual, your review is great. Have to put this book on my TBR list.

    Thank u for the review.

  23. Christina K.

    October 26, 2012 at 5:52 AM

    This sounds like an awesome coming of age, with a likable but flawed character:)

    Great review:)

  24. Jaime Lester

    October 23, 2012 at 10:58 PM

    This sounds like a really great book! It is so nice to hear that the author wrote her character to know right from wrong, to understand that she messed up. To feel apologetic and have a fierce desire to fix things. It seems so rare nowadays to read about a character with morals (true morals). Someone who values those morals. I will definitely have to check this book out. Thanks so much for the review!

  25. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    October 23, 2012 at 9:56 PM

    I love a good contemporary! This one sounds quite good, I’ll have to add it to my TBR.

    Thanks for the review!

  26. Kelly

    October 23, 2012 at 9:55 PM

    the cover really grabs my attention for some reason! thanks for the review 🙂

  27. Grace Lo

    October 23, 2012 at 9:42 PM

    This sounds wonderful! I can definitely feel how distressed Amy must be, and can relate to that. Sometimes, you just can’t be perfect . . .

  28. SweetMarie83

    October 23, 2012 at 2:12 PM

    Yay for Canadian authors! I’ve seen this book around but didn’t know what it was about, and I hadn’t read any reviews until yours. I think I’ll have to pick this one up. 🙂

  29. Inky

    October 23, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    Oooh! This is the first time I’ve seen this book, but it looks awesome! 😀 Thanks for sharing!

  30. Alina P.

    October 23, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    Love the quotes 🙂 and the cover is kind of creepy 😀 Thanks for writing a review, I think I might add it on GoodReads

  31. Erika

    October 23, 2012 at 11:19 AM

    Great review! It looks interesting and I’m getting more into these contemporary stories:) Thanks!

  32. Samantha @ Reading-AndCoffee

    October 23, 2012 at 9:07 AM

    I read this book a while back, and can’t say that it was my favourite contemporary novel ever. I like the subject matter, but just wasn’t interested in the main characters.

  33. Karina A.

    October 23, 2012 at 9:06 AM

    I don’t know if it’s just me but I really drawn to bad boys especially with books. I like how they become sweet and vulnerable. Anyway, this seems good. Thanks for the review!

  34. Zino

    October 23, 2012 at 6:34 AM

    I’ve been looking for some good contemporary novels to read and this one sounds great 🙂

  35. Stephanie @ Bookfever

    October 23, 2012 at 4:55 AM

    Great review! I don’t read much contemporary but this book looks like one that I would actually read and possibly enjoy too. :]

  36. Rebecca

    October 23, 2012 at 4:39 AM

    I’ve been wanting to read this for a while now and your awesome review reminds why I long to read it. If only I could get my hands on a copy… I hope I get to read this sooner rather than later because it sure sounds good! Plus, such a cute cover! So glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: