create
counter

Review: ‘Across the Universe’ by Beth Revis

Review: ‘Across the Universe’ by Beth RevisAcross the Universe by Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #1
Published by Razorbill on January 11th, 2011
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Mystery, Survival, Young Adult
Pages: 398
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought online
five-stars
A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone - one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship - tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

About Beth Revis

Beth Revis wrote her first books as a student in classrooms, when the professors did not hold her interest and she jotted down stories instead of taking notes.

Beth writes science fiction and fantasy novels for teens. Her debut novel, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, will be published by Razorbill/Penguin in Spring 2011. Beth is represented by Merrilee Heifetz at Writers House.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

A story about survival, mystery and humanity.

Amy volunteers to become cryogenically frozen with her parents as a member of Project Ark Ship. They are set on the course to Centauri-Earth for 300 years in the future. But Amy awakes on purpose. Someone leaving her to die and she doesn’t know why.

I quite enjoyed how Amy is so fiery and assertive. That she is stubborn and strong willed to cause such discord with the people of the ship. It’s funny how the Feeders (farmers) are devoid of any emotion making them seem almost inhumane.

My favorite part of this novel has to be the science behind it. I love the concept of an ark being built where people are trying to get to another planet to repopulate it. It reminds me of Wall-E and that is my favorite Pixar movie to date.

Beth writes with enough humor and intrigue to suck you into her world and she does an ancient job. I couldn’t stop reading until I finished. It’s that good. Only a handful of writers have been able to capture my attention since I have such a shirt attention span and Beth is I’ve of them.

Pick it up you won’t be disappointed. If you’re not a sci-fi reader you will definitely be a fan after reading Across the Universe.


quotes

I’d heard of “love” in the sand context that I heard of those religious fairy takes—as stories Sol-Earth people used to tell to make themselves feel better about the imperfect world they helped to create. (247)
A leader isn’t someone who forces others to make humid stronger; a leader is someone willing to give his strength to stand on their own. (345)

rating

5/5

five-stars

26 Comments

  1. digne

    May 26, 2016 at 2:02 AM

    YES! I absolutely adore this series! I got my parents to read it and they loved it too!

    Glad you enjoyed it. Lovely review.

    • giselle

      May 28, 2016 at 4:33 PM

      Ok your parents are the coolest!

  2. sintaelizabeth

    December 18, 2014 at 11:20 PM

    I want to read this book, but it didn’t happen till now. I also love the cover, it’s gorgeous!! I don’t like the new cover, I wish they will use the old cover back! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Book Haul Unboxing: Multiple Editions

  4. Tanya

    February 9, 2014 at 9:03 PM

    Giselle, I really love your reviews! They are always so insightful and help me decide what books to read! Really enjoy watching your youtube videos also!

    I’ve been interested in this book for a while but have heard mixed reviews of it. After reading your review I think I will pick it up in March or April! Thanks so much 🙂

  5. The Cover Contessa

    October 14, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    I really wished I liked this more than I did. I wasn’t thrilled with it. I thought it would be better. It was a bit slow for me.

  6. Ashleigh Swerdfeger

    August 29, 2013 at 2:35 AM

    This sounds great! I love Sci Fi novels and your reviews makes this sound great! I need to check this out! I am so amazed by all the positive reviews.

  7. fatma shahin

    August 25, 2013 at 8:50 AM

    i absolutely ADORE this series. The plot is so amazing and i honestly havent seen that many YA books set in space! Love your review 🙂

  8. Jun

    August 20, 2013 at 11:17 AM

    This book more than my expectation! I love this book, but I don’t like Elder a bit.

  9. Gayatri

    June 30, 2013 at 7:11 AM

    I have been dying to read this book! Great review! I cannot wait to get my hands on this book !

  10. FJ

    June 17, 2013 at 10:50 AM

    I have plan to read this book next month 🙂

  11. Penny Yoke

    April 19, 2013 at 7:08 PM

    I haven’t read this yet, but if its 5/5, Im going to read it soon 🙂

  12. Cali W.

    April 19, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    Cool review! 5 out of 5! It must be good, I’ll put it on my TBR list. <3

  13. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    March 29, 2013 at 8:19 PM

    I can’t wait to read this book! I have heard so many amazing things about it and after your review I just know I’ll love it. The plot and the characters sound intriguing. Plus, the science aspect sounds unique. I’m excited to see how the author incorporates it into the world. Soooo glad you enjoyed this! 😀

    Awesome review!

  14. Alexandra Ray

    February 16, 2013 at 12:24 AM

    Awesome review! I’ve been on the fence with this one, but I think I’ll give it a try now! Thanks 🙂

  15. Brittany Utley

    January 17, 2013 at 2:41 PM

    I still have yet to read this book! Thanks so much for your review!

  16. Imel Cullen

    January 15, 2013 at 10:12 AM

    thanks for review and I want to read this book, dying to read

  17. Roxy Gillies

    December 4, 2012 at 4:25 AM

    I wasn’t a big fan of this book, I liked it but not that much. I think it was probably due to the setting and genre but I did like the alternating narration.

    • Roxy Gillies

      December 4, 2012 at 4:27 AM

      Wow, I accidentally posted on here twice… sorry about that… -_-

  18. Sarah p

    December 2, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    Look forward to reading this book! I can’t believe i have never heard about this book until now!! 🙂

  19. Roxy Gillies

    December 1, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    I liked this book, just not as much as I thought I would but I’m still looking forward to reading the rest in the series. It was a good concept and story but I’m probably just into different genres.

  20. Gaby

    October 29, 2012 at 9:45 PM

    Awesome review.
    I loved this one.
    Her connection to her family was huge for me too!
    That’s why her awakening is so heart breaking.
    I can’t wait to read the next one.

  21. Céline M

    October 27, 2012 at 4:51 PM

    This book is really amazing ! The descriptions are magnificent, like a poem, like something eerie.
    The story also freaks you out. Like you said, it seem inhuman sometimes.
    You can’t be desappointed with this book. And I’m sure it will be the same with ” A Million Sun “.

  22. Kyle Patrick Magistrado

    October 26, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    Awesome. Book.

    Definitely check this out!! 😀

    Can’t wait to read A Million Suns! 🙂

  23. Alyssa Susanna

    October 11, 2012 at 7:53 PM

    This book is one of my favorite YA books of all time. The sequel, A Million Suns, is amazing, maybe even better than Across the Universe. I love the world that Ms. Revis has created. She has come up with an original idea for young adult literature, especially in today’s vampire/werewolf world. A Million Suns did not suffer from the sophomore slump that most second book have. I love thie series, and can’t wait for Shades of Earth. And whatever Ms. Revis is writing right now (something with bows and arrows and ravens… interesting!). Thanks for the review!

  24. Grace Lo

    September 28, 2012 at 10:24 PM

    I cannot express how much I love Across the Universe. Yes, it does have a bit of Wall-E in it, and I can definitely get where you’re coming from. It’s actually terrifying to think that somehow people in the future may actually forget history and have it told so differently, but quite intriguing at the same time.

  25. Pingback: booknerd | Feature: The Newbie’s Guide to Book Blogging Part 2 – The HTML

  26. Sarah (saz101)

    January 15, 2012 at 11:41 PM

    Oh my goodness. Giselle. I freaking LOVE Across The Universe! Beautiful,, claustraphocic, terrifying… and yes! I loved the science behind it! It seems as though she’s done real, actual research to back it up!

    FABULOUS review! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: