create
counter

Review: ‘Anna Dressed in Blood’ by Kendare Blake

Review: ‘Anna Dressed in Blood’ by Kendare BlakeAnna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Series: Anna #1
Published by Tor Teen on August 30th 2011
Genres: Ghosts, Horror, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought in-store
four-stars
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas's life.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

Cas is not your average teenage boy. He doesn’t spend his free time playing sports, or chasing after girls. Nope, he’s a ghost killer. Ever since his dad got murdered by a ghost, he sniffs out leads from his contact named Daisy who tells him where the dead are not living peacefully.

He gets one important call about Anna Korlav who haunts her house and kills anyone who steps in.

Now I’m a person that believes in the afterlife, and to be reading a book about one of my fears was a little scary I have to admit. I enjoyed it quite a bit though. Kendare Blare writes as honestly as any author and her descriptive and gory scenes made my hair rise and put goosebumps on my arms.

I also like how it’s set in Thunder Bay, Ontario. There aren’t many novels set in Canada and reading a book that is made me feel very proud! I like Cas. He’s honest, and warm hearted and he wants to do the right thing. I also liked Carmel. She’s not your typical Qyeen Bee which is quite refreshing.


quotes

She’s death itself, gruesome and senseless, and even when she’s dressed in blood and veins I can’t help but stare. (103)
You make me want things that I can’t have. (161)
She was innocent once, and it kills me that she can never be innocent again. (228)
Because my mother is worried to the point of premature graying, and Carmel and Thomas look way too pale, even for Canadian kids. (292)

rating

4/5

four-stars

27 Comments

  1. Elvina Barclay

    May 18, 2016 at 6:35 AM

    I’ve read this and the sequel which I loved. The characters are wonderful and she writes such amazing gory scenes. I’m not really a huge fan of blood and guts stories but this was such a great read.

    • giselle

      May 18, 2016 at 10:15 PM

      Me too! I’m so not a horror fan but this one was just so great. I loved it. Am super psyched for the movie

  2. Mybookjacket

    May 18, 2016 at 1:23 AM

    OMYGAWD this sounds absolutely awesome. Lemme see if it’s available in my local store. I really really hope it is.
    Mybookjacket recently posted…Review : Urmila by Pervin SaketMy Profile

    • giselle

      May 18, 2016 at 10:15 PM

      I hope you find it and you like it too! I’m not even a big horror fan but this one was grest

  3. Susan T.

    February 21, 2014 at 6:30 PM

    I didn’t realize this was set in Canada! I am even more excited about it now!

    • Giselle

      February 22, 2014 at 4:12 PM

      Yess, it is! Set in Thunder Bay I think

  4. _Sandra_

    December 22, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    Although, I’m not the biggest fan of ghost stories/books out there, I really, really loved this one. Creepy and scary book with great characters and even better Kendare’s writing. Looking forward to reading Girl of Nightmares.

  5. Sarah Corbin

    November 13, 2013 at 2:45 PM

    Great review!!! I have read this book and enjoyed it myself!! I agree myself about the descriptive details!!!

  6. Maricris Patrimonio Dimla

    October 30, 2013 at 1:00 AM

    Ive read lots of good reviews for this book. Might as well add it to my TBR list ! THank you for sharing your thoughts!

  7. Cali W.

    October 14, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    Great review! i have read many good reviews on this book, it sounds like a good Halloween read. 😉

  8. Book nerd. (@RenzRupert)

    August 17, 2013 at 11:24 PM

    Very interesting! It’s definitely in my to-read list. 😀

  9. FJ

    June 23, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    Like, some people who was comments, I haven’t read this book. But my friends recommendation this book. But, until now, I don’t search for this book 😆

  10. Teresa (NeedNewSpace)

    June 7, 2013 at 4:53 PM

    I’ve had this book in my Wishlist @ Chapters for so long and always put off buying it. After checking your review, I know that I’ll have to move it to the shoing cart and buy it already! Thanks Giselle!

  11. Jaime Lester

    May 21, 2013 at 10:15 PM

    Cas was an awesome, perfectly imperfect character! Anna was amazing, freaky, sweet and loving, and scary as heck. That basement scene? Whew! Love this story. Haven’t read the second book, but I am highly looking forward to it

  12. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    March 27, 2013 at 10:45 PM

    I am super excited to start this one! I have it sitting on my shelf and I am soo intrigued by it now. I love the ghost idea and I am actually also looking forward to it being set in Canada! Plus, Anna sounds like a fantastic heroine. I can’t wait to meet her! Glad you enjoyed this one!

    Awesome review! 😀

  13. Pabkins

    March 15, 2013 at 6:05 PM

    My favorite character definitely is Thomas. He’s so frumpy and loveable. It was definitely a good read. Just wait til you read the next one! Heck it didn’t even occur to me its in Canada
    Pabkins @ My Shelf Confessions

  14. Imel Cullen

    January 19, 2013 at 9:40 AM

    I haven’t read Anna dressed in blood but my friend recomended this, thanks for your review, it help 😀

  15. Holly W

    November 10, 2012 at 2:46 PM

    I didn’t know this book was set in Thunder Bay, I am even more excited to read it now!!! This is yet again another book on my “to buy” list.

  16. Céline M

    October 30, 2012 at 8:27 AM

    I really want to read this book. Its seems special.
    I like stories with ghosts and we can’t read one every day. I have heard very good things about this book, and your review just confirm it !

  17. _Sandra_

    October 28, 2012 at 4:36 PM

    I rarely (aka almost never) read books involving ghosts, but this one totally blew me away. The witchcraft, spells, voodoo, scary basement.. Everything about this books was sooo good and very well writen. Cannot wait to read Girl of Nightmares! 🙂

  18. Kyle Patrick Magistrado

    October 27, 2012 at 5:23 AM

    I want to read this! T_T

  19. Ash

    October 25, 2012 at 5:25 AM

    I’ve been dying to read this book. The cover gives me the creeps. Great review.

  20. Dovile

    October 16, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    I love this book! I’m a fan of Supernatural TV series and this book is quite similar in plot and atmosphere. I can’t wait to read the sequel, Girl of Nightmares.

  21. jade

    October 14, 2012 at 4:58 AM

    loved this one.

  22. Grace Lo

    October 13, 2012 at 8:46 PM

    To be honest, I didn’t notice that the book was set in Canada until your post mentioned it. I’m very proud as a Canadian too c: While I thought the part where Anna does kill people a little intriguing and with that in-your-face quality I love, I felt like the book needed a teensy bit of a push for me to say that this was amazing. It disappointed me a little bit because I was expecting something much more scarier what with the synopsis I fell in love with. Nevertheless, I did still like the book very much c:

  23. VanillaOrchids

    September 25, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    I haven’t read this book yet but I really want to. The whole idea behind the story fascinates me. Thank you for your review!

    Pam

  24. Pingback: booknerd | Feature: The Newbie’s Guide to Book Blogging Part 2 – The HTML

  25. Thibaud

    February 13, 2012 at 12:43 AM

    I think this was one of my first Waiting On Wednesday posts. I CANNOT wait! From the early reeivws that I have heard it is just as awesome as it sounds!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: