create
counter

Review: ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ by Stephanie Perkins

Review: ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ by Stephanie PerkinsAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #1
Published by Dutton Juvenile on July 16th, 2013
Genres: Chick Lit, Contemporary, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 372
Format: Paperback
Source: bought online
four-stars
Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she's less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he's taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she's waiting for?

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

I avoided this one because all the hype surrounding it. Honestly, I felt a bit pressured to go and read it, so when the liveshow for Isla came with the Contemporary Lovers group that I was a part of, I pretty much forced myself to read it. I was glad I did..Super cute characters with likable characters that make you want to wish they were real so you can be friends with them!

Traipsing around Paris finding movies to watch in their subtitled French, eating croissants and sipping coffee or hot chocolate at cafes..This is the life that Anna has switched out for. Being an American in Paris isn’t anything new, but with a new culture brings a whole lot of experience. Anna is sent off to boarding school in Paris and she’s not thrilled of the idea at all. But as life goes on, she makes friends with new people and faces and even ends up crushing on the cutest boy at school. It’s your typical boy meets girl love story, but set in the City of Light.

The only trouble that I had was that not a whole lot happens. Except trying to find out if the two would get together. Also I did not enjoy the fact that there was cheating involved. Even if it wasn’t physical, emotional cheating is just as devastating and I wished St. Clair was single to make the story pretty much perfect.

Pretty much the cutest contemporary story that I’ve read as of late. Anna and St. Clair will weasel into your hearts and will make their story unforgettable! Love<3


reading progress

anna-and-the-french-kiss_stephanie-perkins_reading-progress


quotes

Seriously, I don’t know any American girl who can resist an English accent. (15)
You ought to stop listening to stereotypes and start forming your own opinions. (76)
It’s for your backpack, so people won’t think you’re American. Europeans are much more forgiving of Canadians. (115)
Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place? (250)
The boy gets a boner every time you walk in the room. (281)
Why can’t I say no to cute boys? (293)
How many times can our emotions be tied to someone else’s—be pulled and stretched and twisted—before they snap? Before they can never be mended again? (333)

rating

4/5

four-stars

16 Comments

  1. Joy @ The Bookshelf Intruder

    January 22, 2015 at 9:07 PM

    I loved this book, Giselle! It was one of the best books I’ve read last year, definitely one of my favorites. So glad you liked it. 🙂

  2. Asma A.J

    January 7, 2015 at 11:48 AM

    I haven’t read this yet, but I’ve heard so many great things around it, so I’ll definitely be checking out. Great review!

    • giselle

      January 7, 2015 at 8:47 PM

      Hope you like it!

  3. thebigfatf

    December 29, 2014 at 8:06 AM

    I wish this book never stopped

  4. Gabbie

    December 28, 2014 at 3:47 PM

    I absolutely adored this book, and I’m glad that you enjoyed it as well. It is way adorable. This is always one of my go-to recommendations. I see that you’ve read Isla–I definitely would recommend Lola as well! Great review! (:

    Gabbie @ Rampant Readers

  5. Juhina

    December 28, 2014 at 3:08 PM

    i love love love this book (you already know that) and i’m so glad you did too! It’s nice to read your full opinion. I get what you meant about the emotional cheating.. but i feel even his girlfriend had her own thing (still not really excusable). I love how this book, it was everyday issues (i know you don’t like those) but still, I’m happy you gave it 4 stars even with these two issues 🙂

  6. stacy

    December 26, 2014 at 4:09 AM

    I also have avoided reading this because of the hype, but it was on sale recently for $2.99 so I bought it. I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, but I think I will finally give it a chance.

  7. Leigh (LittleBookStar)

    December 20, 2014 at 4:27 AM

    That’s so true about the not a lot of things happening in the story. I think I kept on reading just because I want to see how it ends (if they get together or not) and I was disappointed too that there was cheating involved…I guess it makes it more realistic? But that’s just sad though 🙁 it kind of turned me off St. Clair. Overall I enjoyed it because of the writing style.

    • giselle

      December 20, 2014 at 3:59 PM

      Yeah! Same here.. That was my main reason for reading it until the end. Emotional cheating is stoll cheating! Me too. Theres something about her writing that puts you in their mind-set

  8. Jaime Lynn

    December 19, 2014 at 11:06 PM

    That dang hype monster! I have not read any of these books, and even though I try to deny it, I know that that has something to do with me not reading it. The amount of letdown possible with these kinds of books is enormous. However, now that you have read it and enjoyed it, knowing that you were hesitant for the same reasons, I may just give it a shot now. I do like really cute contemps!

  9. The Cover Contessa

    December 19, 2014 at 8:06 PM

    I really enjoyed this book. Although I will say I liked book #2 and 3 better. But this was so great. The scenery. The fact that the male MC is not “perfect”. All good stuff right there! Glad you liked it!

  10. Cali W.

    December 19, 2014 at 5:45 PM

    Good review. This book is still my favorite out of all the ones she has written. 😉

  11. Cynthia

    December 19, 2014 at 10:09 AM

    I tried to start that one, but I didn’t get very far into it. It just didn’t pull me in. Glad you enjoyed it though.

    • BO-OK NERD Canada

      December 19, 2014 at 12:39 PM

      It does take a while for things to start. More like every day scenes..

  12. Sophia Rose

    December 19, 2014 at 9:07 AM

    I read her next book when I got it as a giveaway win, but like you, I rebel against the hyped books just b/c I don’t want the poor book to fail just b/c I was expecting too much or something different.

    It does sound cute, but cheating is a no-no for me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: