create
counter

Review: ‘Ashfall’ by Mike Mullin

Review: ‘Ashfall’ by Mike MullinAshfall by Mike Mullin
Series: Ashfall #1
Published by Tanglewood Press on October 16th, 2012
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Survival, Young Adult
Pages: 476
Format: Paperback
Source: bought in-store
five-stars
Under the bubbling hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone National Park is a supervolcano. Most people don't know it's there. The caldera is so large that it can only be seen from a plane or satellite. It just could be overdue for an eruption, which would change the landscape and climate of our planet.

For Alex, being left alone for the weekend means having the freedom to play computer games and hang out with his friends without hassle from his mother. Then the Yellowstone supervolcano erupts, plunging his hometown into a nightmare of darkness, ash, and violence. Alex begins a harrowing trek to seach for his family and finds help in Darla, a travel partner he meets along the way. Together they must find the strength and skills to survive and outlast an epic disaster.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

I can’t imagine having to go through what Alex went through. So much death. So much hunger. So much growing up. The poor guy had to learn how to grow up quickly and some young decisions which are evident when he makes rash and dumb decisions. But he learns every time he does something to keep himself alive. And that is one admirable quality. I really loved Alex’s character. He is a survivor and one so realistic to a teenage boy that I could almost remember how teenage boys acted in my own life.

There is an incredible amount of realistic possibilities that a super volcano could unleash on the world. I was incredibly surprised by the amount of research Mike Mullin did. I love it when authors incorporate real-life problems into their books. It makes their writing come alive.

And Mike Mullin’s books are vividly descriptive that it felt like I was reading a movie. There is one scene that I couldn’t read properly and promptly forgot about it right after. The slaughtering of the animals for food. (I stopped eating pork after this :()

There’s so much emotion and a lot of action which I always loved. I’m definitely gunning to read Ashen Winter, the next book in this series.

Character Development
Alex matures quickly only because he had to. The world he knew it was gone.”

Pacing
A little boring at parts, but the action parts make up for it.

Cover/Design
A little boring but I love how it portrays the story and title.

Plot
An instant survival story filled with a lot of human emotions.

Summary
A realistic post-apocalyptic read that centers around a wonderful character and a driven plot. A must-read for any reader.


quotes

Before that day, I had no idea that it was possible to be insane with both terror and boredom at the same time.
Hunger of choice is a painful luxury; hunger of necessity is a terrifying torture.
We were tired, hungry, and wrapped in multiple layers of filthy winter clothing. None of that mattered to me; I was in love. I thought Darla was, too—but maybe with the bulldozer.

rating

5/5

five-stars

17 Comments

  1. Sarah Corbin

    November 14, 2013 at 2:28 PM

    Great review!!! this book sounds like it would be good and when author’s dig through history and research stuff it makes me the book seem so fascinating and more interesting!!!

  2. Jun

    August 27, 2013 at 10:17 AM

    The Super Volcano that unleash the world remind me of mount Tambora eruption.

    Such a great book. I must looking more review about this book.

  3. Holly B

    December 3, 2012 at 2:40 PM

    Great review, thanks! I got this for my Kindle at a really cheap price but haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard really great things about it, pretty consistently, so I’m looking forward to it! And who knows, perhaps it will turn me into a vegetarian – something I’ve considered for some time! 🙂

  4. Erika

    November 29, 2012 at 2:05 PM

    I’ve had this on my shelf for awhile. I need to read it soon. Thanks for your thoughts! Sounds really good!

  5. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    November 28, 2012 at 8:18 PM

    I’ve been really wanting to give this series a read, I’m going to HAVE to now 🙂

    Thanks for the review, sorry about the pork 🙁

    • Giselle

      November 29, 2012 at 12:01 AM

      Yeah that pork scene grossed me out a lot..

  6. Madeline Webster (with Tanglewood)

    November 28, 2012 at 5:02 PM

    Thought I’d let you know we have a new cover that better matches the cover on Ashen Winter, the sequel to Ashfall. 🙂 Be sure to check it out.

    • Giselle

      November 29, 2012 at 12:01 AM

      Thanks so much Madeline! I knew there were new covers out but I have the old one so I placed that one on the blog instead. Thanks for letting me know though!

  7. Sarah O

    November 27, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    Didn’t this happen in the movie 2012? I mean obviously not in such a horrifying way because it was a family action film, but I’m pretty sure I remember this being part of the plot. Weird.

    Anyway, I’m more into disaster movies than books, personally, but I have a friend who loves all of that stuff. Seriously, she took a storm-chasing class. I’ll definitely keep this in mind for a Christmas gift.

  8. Jaime Lester

    November 27, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    For some reason I haven’t read this yet. I have seen it several times at the library, and picked it up, but I just haven’t brought it home. I don’t even know why. I have read so many great reviews. I think that one day I will definitely read it, but I think I might just wait until the last book is out. Thanks for the review!

  9. Savannah

    November 27, 2012 at 10:10 PM

    I LOVED this book! Like OMG loved it 🙂 Awesome review. The second book is even better 🙂

  10. Brent

    November 27, 2012 at 9:57 PM

    This was a great book.

  11. Adriana C

    November 27, 2012 at 2:56 PM

    I loved this book! Great review.

  12. Carol

    November 27, 2012 at 1:55 PM

    I want to read this book so badly! I love that this post-apocalyptic/ cataclysmic setting is so scarily real – like the premise for Rootless by Chris Howard. It makes the complete story seem so tangible. Besides, a first-person male/ boy perspective is a refreshing change =)

    Thanks for the recomendation!!
    BTW, I like that cover, I guess I’m not very fan of the new ones =/

  13. roro @roro is reading

    November 27, 2012 at 1:40 PM

    the cover is boring . *casps* how van you say that . lol

    i still need 2 read my copy . i have 2 soon . gr8 review

  14. Ashley

    November 27, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    Gosh, isn’t this book freaking insane?? The craziest thing about it is that this could actually happen. And if it did, Mike Mullin’s portrayal of the effects is probably very accurate.

    Really scary stuff.

    I personally wasn’t as crazy about the second book. It felt like Ashfall 2.0 (meaning the exact same story and plot arc, but with slightly different events). I’m hoping the third book will be a bit more interesting. 🙂

  15. Dorine White

    November 27, 2012 at 1:54 AM

    I loved this book too. It was fast paced and gritty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: