create
counter

Review: ‘Blood Sun’ by David Gilman

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Blood Sun’ by David GilmanBlood Sun by David Gilman
Series: Danger Zone #3
Published by Doubleday Canada on December 27th, 2011
Genres: Action & Adventure, Middle Grade, Science Fiction
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: publisher unsolicited
four-stars
Has Max's quest for the truth led to an answer for which he'll pay the ultimate price?

Deep in the London underground, a train shudders across an unseen body. Days later, on the bleakness of Dartmoor, Max Gordon learns of a fellow student's death in the capital. Danny Maguire was carrying an envelope with Max's name on it--containing the secret of Max's mother's death. The clues take Max into the endangered rainforest of Central America where, hunted down by a ruthless killer, he must also escape the jaws of deadly crocodiles and flesh-eating piranhas. The truth Max is desperately trying to uncover lies deep within the dangerous forest's heart . . . if only he can stay alive to reach it. The third and final novel in David Gilman's supercharged, sophisticated adventure series, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, James Patterson, and the Jason Bourne movies.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Once you start reading this book, you won’t want to put it down. Why? Because from the very beginning it draws you in. The intro alone had me on the very edge of my seat.

Max Gordon’s character is unbelievably smart and resourceful and I love the fact that he gets out of tough situations on his own. And why wouldn’t he? His parents got caught in the middle of some mysterious but also dangerous trouble.

So when a former classmate of Max’s turns up dead with a letter about his mother, it drives him to find out more about his mother’s death. It’s up to Max to find out how his mother died and why. However the closer he gets to unraveling the mystery, the closer he gets into hot waters with people who want to murder him.

There’s a great deal of Mayan culture represented in the book which I love. (Especially when Max sees them making hot chocolate)

This novel is chock full of action, and mystery! I wouldn’t be surprised if it turns into a tv show because the adventures that Max Gordon gets into would make a wonderful show.

Can I just say how much I enjoyed reading about Sayid and his computer hacking abilities? Creating programs out of open-source languages to hack into government web sites, lead false trails, and steal security footage just made me giddy with excitement.

Overall, if you’re into the spy genre like I am you will DEFINITELY want to pick up this novel. A wonderful middle-grade read that will surely entertain the boredom out of you. I highly recommend it.


quotes

Don’t go blindly into a place of dancer. Whenever possible? Know your ground. (101)
Always be careful what you wish for, a voice said in his head. You might not want it when you get it. (150)
It’s not just wild animals, snakes, spiders and crocodiles that’ll kill you; there are plants that’ll get into your bloodstream and paralyze you, leaving you suffocating to death on the jungle floor. Then just about everything that crawls or slithers will come for you—that’s if the ants don’t get you first. (243)
In the past, Mayan kings saw death as an honor and offered their own blood to appease their gods.. (370)

rating

4/5

four-stars

2 Comments

  1. Diana Grace

    February 16, 2014 at 2:29 AM

    This sounds very good and exciting! Great review! 🙂
    Diana Grace recently posted…COVER REVEAL: Flawed Perfection (Beautifully Flawed 1) by Cassandra GiovanniMy Profile

  2. Jaime Lester

    May 23, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    This is another series that I haven’t heard about until now. It sounds good. Very different from the things that I normally read, but that is a good thing. I need more diversity in my reading repertoire! I have not seen The Jason Bourne movies, but I like a good action movie. And novel! Thank you for the review. I will have to find the reviews for the first 2 books!

  3. Pingback: booknerd | Feature: The Newbie’s Guide to Book Blogging Part 2 – The HTML

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: