create
counter

Review: ‘Breaking Dawn Part 2’ Movie

breaking-dawn-part-2_movie_header

Thanks to Twitter reviews I had high expectations for the final movie in the Twilight series. And boy were my expectations met.

The movie followed the book surprisingly well from what I remember having read it soooo long ago. I kind of forgot what happened, but the movie quickly reminded me. Basically, the only thing I was looking for was the crazy twist ending that everyone on Twitter was talking about. The beginning was pretty hilarious what with Jacob and Renesmee, and Bella trying to hunt for the first time. I especially loved the little cottage they set up. You can tell how big of a budget this movie was. Bella’s closet was any fashionista’s dream closet. I also loved Renesmee’s room and the fact that there were bookshelves all over the tiny cottage. Perfect. The only thing I couldn’t stop staring at was the horrible CGI of Renesmee. She looked out of place, and you can really tell it’s not a baby, so my eyes would constantly stay on the baby instead of anything else. How distracting lol.  Speaking of LOLs, I just couldn’t stop laughing at Aro’s brilliant appearance. His laugh is hilarious, and I thought he acted so well being insane as his character suggests. Wonderful acting!

The middle was trés boring..I have no patience sometimes..(Maybe I have a slight case of ADD?!?)but then FINALLY, the ending came around and I perked up. That ending was just intense. I was literally gripping the seat. And yeah I did NOT see that epic ending with a twist.  I don’t think I was paying any attention, so when it happened I gasped out loud, just as much as the rest of the audience did. You can tell the ones who were shocked read the books, and the ones who stayed quiet didn’t. I kind of wished Stephenie Meyer wrote the book with the twist, now THAT would have been a better ending.

breaking-dawn-part-2_movie_poster

I haven’t read Breaking Dawn in years having only read it once, because the ending was such a killjoy, but I was wondering if the twist wasin the book. So maybe if I have any spare time, I will sit down and read the Twilight series once again.

If you strip out all the annoyances in pacing, plot, twists, and characters, it’s ultimately a love story. I am a true romantic at heart, and their story was indeed a roller coaster.

Well done Bill Condon (Director), and Melissa Rosenberg (Screenplay), and Summitt Entertainment, well done.

Pacing
Lonnng part in the beginning, but what a wicked ending to finish the entire story

Acting
Hat’s off to the wonderful cast director who found a wonderful Renesmee, as well as Aro. Oh and the actor who will be playing Jace in City of Bones movie had more acting time, and he is definitely not who I pictured Jace to be, but what can you do..”

Cinematography/CGI
The locations were beautiful especially the meadow, but that CGI of Renesmee was completely fake.



rating

4/5


16 Comments

  1. Jeannette Laframboise

    December 8, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    Thanks so much for such a great review. I am a ‘closet’ lover of Twilight, only because some people look at me like I am nuts if I say I enjoyed the books and movies. I have seen all the movies except Breaking Dawn Part 2 and I am looking forward to seeing it.

    Nothing better than a roller coaster of a movie, and I can put aside some of the corny type parts. I similar to you, enjoy a love story so regardless of the other content, I am sure I will enjoy it. 😉 I am afraid to admit that this being the last one in the series, I may suffer a little withdrawal…ah well, it may soon be time for me to re-read the books as well.

  2. Samantha

    November 29, 2012 at 10:25 PM

    I totally agree with you! Especially with the Renesmee as a baby I could not stop staring at it. During the fight scene I was so into it that I was like cheering out… weird I know. Me and a couple of my friends saw it twice in the span of a few days we all loved the ending. I almost cried… just saying. Way better than the others I’m actually going to purchase this DVD unlike the rest.

  3. Rebecca

    November 26, 2012 at 7:58 PM

    I’m normally a book-then-movie gal but one night I decided to watch the movies so I’ve yet to read the books and I’m not sure if I even will. I’m looking forward to seeing how it all ends and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. Ashame that the middle was boring but at least the ending packed a punch! Great movie review!

  4. Sarah O

    November 25, 2012 at 4:05 PM

    Alright now that I’ve finally seen the movie I can comment! I have a terrible memory, but I’m pretty sure I really hated the first move, really disliked the next two, and then thought part 1 was much better except for the ridiculous wolf mind talking.

    I really liked the credits at the end, I thought it was a nice touch. I was really bothered by the fact that they didn’t acknowledge the original actress who played Victoria. She was, after all, in 2/3 of the movies as Victoria. Oh well.

  5. .Ambur.

    November 24, 2012 at 1:44 AM

    Great review! 😀 I loved this movie, too. They did such an amazing job with it. 🙂

    I actually really enjoyed the book version BD myself, but it would have been really odd for the twist to be in the book because it was in Bella’s POV so the twist wouldn’t have fit. That isn’t to say that Stephenie Meyer didn’t actually think of it…who knows, maybe she thought of that herself and that was the reason there was no major confrontation in the book. Could be. 🙂 It was definitely an amazing twist to put in the movie…kind of terrifying, but at the same time awesome! 😀

  6. Haraiah

    November 24, 2012 at 1:23 AM

    I didn’t like the effects for Bella’s first hunt. The first parts of the movie was, I agree, pretty ‘eh’ but that fight was freaking awesome! I almost choked on my drink and I was all ‘what? WHAT! WHAT!?’. Honestly, it would almost be okay for me if the ending was that vision.

  7. Jaime Lester

    November 23, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    Best of the movies, in my opinion. With the exception of creepy fake baby. Very creepy fake baby. Other than that, I loved it. The twist was awesome, once I moved past it a little. It was crazy good. All in all, this movie was miles better than the others. The acting was so much better from all of the cast, the HAIR was actually nice on all of the characters. Jasper didn’t look like a flippin weirdo. He is actually very cute. I am sad and happy to see it go, and very happy that it went out so much better than it came in

  8. Liza @ Reading with ABC

    November 23, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    I agree with you as well! I gasped with everyone else in the theater and kept thinking ‘this didn’t happen in the book!” Love it, especially since the middle part was much shorter that in the book 🙂

  9. Janiera Eldridge

    November 23, 2012 at 12:59 PM

    The twist ending is not in the book, that’s why it is a twist.;) lol

  10. rabbitsfortea

    November 23, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    I’ve only caught the first and second (I think it was the second) movie with the sole purpose of having a good laugh and on that aspect, the movies did deliver.

    Still don’t think I’ll be paying to watch this but I’m glad more people enjoyed it!

  11. Dovile

    November 23, 2012 at 10:47 AM

    I’ve last read the book about 2 years before watching this movie (I loved the part from Jacob’s POV), and I remembered it quite well, and the twist at the end was awesome, I really didn’t see it coming. I went in expecting that the movie won’t stick to the book, as I’ve heard that there was to be a battle at the end which didn’t happen in the book, but of course, a movie must be more visual than just a conversation. I loved how they solved it! And I also liked how they made Renesmee – the baby was obviously CGI, but later I liked that they didn’t have her make all kinds of CGI jumps which would have looked unrealistic.
    The only thing that bugs me a bit – at the very end, how could Alice see the vision of the future on the beach? She can’t see werevolves, Renesmee or anyone who is close to them, like when Bella jumped off the cliff in New Moon.

  12. Karina A.

    November 23, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    I just read straight on the rating part because I haven’t seen the movie yet. I don’t want to read some spoilers. I’m can’t wait to watch it! I’m just so busy right now that I don’t have time to go to the cinemas. Anyway,thanks!

  13. Dorothy Reading

    November 23, 2012 at 9:40 AM

    I didn’t think the Renesmee CGI was all that bad after the initial baby. I’m still not convinced even the baby was bad. I can’t decide if I was creeped out because she was fake or because she was too lucid to be a baby. Either way, baby Renesmee was weird, lol.

    I loved, loved, LOVED the fight scene. I’m usually a stickler for continuity, but I was perfectly okay with Alice being able to see the wolves in this movie in order for the story to have a better ending.

  14. Wendy

    November 23, 2012 at 9:32 AM

    I’ll have to agree with my boyfriend on this one – Breaking Dawn PT 2 was so much better than the others. A lot more action and a lot less sappyness, if you catch my drift 😉

    On the plus side, there was an ACTUAL OPENING which was very well done =) Was not a fan of Renesmee’s cgi expressions for a while there (in baby form and toddler form).

  15. Zino

    November 23, 2012 at 2:52 AM

    I just got out the cinemas from watching the movie literally and hour ago. I loved it! Yeees, that ending! however I also thought baby Renesmee looked weird,but I can remember a few years ago when everyone was worried that they might not able to get Renesmee right (and of course the problem of the actors ageing). But I’m glad they did it, can’t wait for the DVD now 🙂

  16. Anna

    November 23, 2012 at 12:17 AM

    lol! I agree with your review, though some Edward/Bella scenes were just so cornball. either that or I can’t get over her emotionless expressions. but yeah, lets watch it again with Lucy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: