create
counter

Review: ‘Burn for Burn’ by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Burn for Burn’ by Jenny Han and Siobhan VivianBurn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Series: Burn for Burn #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on September 18th, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Friendship, Love & Romance, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: publisher unsolicited
four-stars
Postcard-perfect Jar Island is the kind of place where nobody locks their doors at night, where parents can sleep easy, knowing their daughters are tucked away safe and sound in their beds.

But bad things can happen, even to good girls . . . and sometimes, the only way to make things right is to do something wrong.

Lillia used to trust boys, but not anymore. Not after what happened this summer. And she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her little sister from the same fate.

Kat is over the rumors, the insults, the cruel jokes made at her expense. It all goes back to one person--her ex-best friend. Someone needs to teach her a lesson, and, with Lillia and Mary behind her, Kat feels up to the task.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. Now that she’s got friends who have her back, he's going to be in big trouble.

Three very different girls who come together to make things right. Will they go too far?

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Ah the joys of high school, full of cliques, and drama, and this time around revenge. The book takes place on Jar Island. a picture perfect area with four towns. The residents don’t believe in locking their doors, and everyone trusts one another. We start off with Mary who comes back to Jar Island, for reasons that aren’t explained right away so the mystery deepens. Then there’s Lillia, the rich but not spoiled princess who wants nothing but to protect her little sister from making the same gruesome mistakes she made. Lastly, there’s the strong yet hot-headed Kat who wants to get revenge at her ex best friend Rennie. These girls have been burned, and there’s no one to stop them until they get their revenge.

The girls each take a turn and voice their opinions. The reader is whipped back and forth from the past to the present, which I particularly didn’t like. It wasn’t confusing, it was just scattered. The authors do a great job writing together and it absolutely shows in their clever plot twists. The characters develop very fast and so does the plot. The setting is just perfect, and I can understand how the beautiful setting can be completely misleading.

I didn’t like how the book glossed over Lillia’s problem. She was taken advantage of and it was like no big deal to her. How could you brush that off? I thought it was incredibly unrealistic. Miscommunication and assumptions are made and the girls just fight fire with fire, when it could have easily been solved just by talking. I guess that’s why the teen years are for learning from your mistakes. And then there’s Mary. who didn’t have much of a personality..That is until the very end. The paranormal twist was surprising and one that I didn’t see, so that was rather intriguing. It reminded me a lot of Carrie. (That movie creeped me out as a teen!) As soon as I heard what the plans were for Reeve, I knew it would badly. This is too horrible to imagine. I screamed at the characters “DON’T DO IT!” (Like the characters would listen..)

Burn for Burn is an intense, and powerful read that mimics Gossip Girl and Mean Girls. It also ends on a cliffhanger ending, and I can’t tolerate those because I need to know what happens!


quotes

People were going to believe what they wanted to believe.
When we were young, he was a good-looking kid. But now…he’s beautiful. He’s so beautiful.
That’s how it is with me—you do me wrong, you’re dead to me.
Rennie: “But, like, why did we have to take our shoes off at the door?”

Kat: “I think it’s an Asian thing.”
You mean a lot to me. Always have. Always will.
Only this time I’m not going to take advantage of it. He’s a person with feelings too.

rating

4/5

four-stars

19 Comments

  1. Brooke Banks

    September 15, 2015 at 5:22 PM

    I STILL have this sitting on shelf to read. Not going to lie, after so long I’ve forgotten everything about it including why I wanted to try it.

    It’s good to hear this, I’ll use it as motivation to finally get to reading it! Doesn’t sound like a homerun for me, but it sounds good enough to enjoy. (And finally get it over with lol.)

    • giselle

      September 16, 2015 at 6:37 AM

      No worries! I’m just really glad you’re going to give it a try 🙂

  2. fatma shahin

    September 30, 2013 at 6:28 PM

    This sounds like such a cool book! I recently heard a booktuber talking about it. She said it was pretty good! Looking forward to this one 🙂

  3. Diana Grace (chaoticreader)

    August 28, 2013 at 10:54 PM

    I have been wanting to read this, thanks for an honest review! 🙂

  4. Sarah p

    January 31, 2013 at 9:59 PM

    This book sounds like one I’d like a lot. I have seen this cover before but never knew what the book was called so its funny I stumbled upon it on your blog 🙂 I tend to like books that are written by two authors, so will definitely be adding this to my TBR list. Thanks for your review!

  5. leighmarbella

    January 16, 2013 at 11:43 AM

    I bought and read this last year without knowing what the plot is because of the awesome cover to be honest. I wasn’t really expecting to enjoy this but I did. At first I thought the intrigues and revenge were kinda’ petty but as the story continued I was like “WTF?!” Anyway, I really can’t wait to read more of this series.

  6. MonaG

    November 29, 2012 at 11:33 PM

    I’m reading this one right now but only just started and am liking it so far. I enjoy books written from different characters’ points of view. Some of my favorite authors write in this style. Jumps in time can be confusing to me. We’ll see.

    I’ve seen the movie Carrie several times and never tire of it. Gossip Girl series on TV is a guilty pleasure but I’m woefully behind so I’ll probably have to start from the very beginning b/c it’s been awhile.

  7. Gaby

    November 28, 2012 at 9:20 PM

    I’ve been getting mixed reviews on this one but I think in the end i will give it a shot 🙂

  8. Vikas

    November 18, 2012 at 9:41 PM

    invest through tdimeratrade online. dang, I wish I had a reference number cause I’d get $50 for it Anyway, much cheaper than a personal broker. There are funds that invest in real estate if that is where you want to put your money.Or pick a company you like, like Apple.Each trade cost $10. So, if you want to buy 4 shares of apple at $250/share, it will cost you $1010. If you sell for $300 in a year, you get $1190 (you pay another $10 for the second trade to sell).Set the account to link to your bank so you can wire the money online.It comes with a risk. Most non-professionals actually lose money trading. The longer you plan to hold a stock, the better off you will be.

  9. Haraiah

    October 11, 2012 at 7:29 AM

    I heard of this book from your blog and bought it just recently. I’m so glad you like it! Can’t wait to start this one soon!

  10. Tiff @ MostlyYALit

    October 1, 2012 at 4:28 PM

    I’ve heard about the paranormal twist and I was dying to ask about it at the authors’ reading the other day…but I didn’t want to spoil it for anyone. Thanks so much for the review – I’m curious to see if I’ll find Lillia’s problems glossed over as you did.

  11. Zara Alexis

    September 30, 2012 at 12:33 AM

    Mmm…I really need realistic to be able to empathize with characters! Thanks for the review. Will give it a quick read when I get a chance.

  12. Linda Henderson

    September 29, 2012 at 11:00 PM

    I have not heard anything about this book but I think my daughter might like it.

  13. Lynn K.

    September 29, 2012 at 2:15 AM

    I’m not a fan of contemporary books to begin with and those I do read I prefer to be realistic. And cliffhanger…? I think I’ll give this a pass. >.>

  14. Jaime Lester

    September 27, 2012 at 11:48 PM

    I was lucky enough to win a copy of Burn for Burn and I get even more excited about it every time I see a review for it. Contemporary is a fairly new genre for me still, but the more of it I read, the more i love it and I think Contemporary may just become a norm. thanks so much for the great review, and getting me all excited. I can’t wait for it to show up! I might just have to do a little dance with some jazz hands added in!

  15. Grace Lo

    September 27, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    I’ve only read The List by Vivian Siobhan, and absolutely fell in love with its painful reality. Glad that you enjoyed it (I hate cliffhangers too!) and can’t wait to get a copy of my own.

  16. Allyson Rida

    September 27, 2012 at 5:32 PM

    Sounds Gossip Girl-ish, but I’ll give it a try! It seems to have more intricate story lines since there will be sequels…

  17. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    September 27, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    I’ve been kind of on the edge about this one, it sound good, but I’m still not sure. I’m glad you like it though, so I’ll definitely consider it!

    Thanks for the review!

  18. Rebecca

    September 27, 2012 at 12:48 AM

    Although you had some trouble with it, I’m so glad you enjoyed it so much! I can’t wait to meet the girls and the paranormal twist at the end DOES sound intriguing! I hate cliffhangers too but to hanging, first I must read this. Can’t wait for my copy to arrive!

    Thanks for this beautiful, honest review. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: