create
counter

Review: ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer

Review: ‘Cinder’ by Marissa MeyerCinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1
Published by Feiwel & Friends on January 3rd, 2012
Genres: Fairy Tales & Folklore, Love & Romance, Retelling, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought in-store
five-stars
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

Cinderella meets Star Wars meets iRobot meets Outbreak!

This isn’t your ordinary tale of Hans Christian Anderson’s Cinderella. In this tale, Cinderella is a cyborg who lives in New Beijing. It’s set in the future where Prince Kai is set to be emperor because the plague reached his own father who is dying. The people are desperate for a cure and when it looks like Cinder has the key to being the antidote because she is immune.

I love how Cinder is feisty. How she is intelligent and beautiful at the same time. I enjoyed the setting truly because they have hover cars. Can you believe a world with gas powered vehicles? It’s a reality in New Beijing! I’m a definite nerd for anything that is remotely futuristic which is why this is one of my gave reads of 2011.

The plot is engaging enough to keep my attention and the characters are interesting as well. There’s no one as evil as Queen Levana which reminds me of the queen from Snow White in the way she wants to be the most beautiful woman as well.


quotes

Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating. (14)

rating

5/5

five-stars

17 Comments

  1. Mya C

    January 31, 2015 at 10:42 PM

    Amazing review! Can’t wait to read more of yours!

  2. Manual

    August 13, 2014 at 9:25 PM

    I see you share interesting things here, you can earn some extra money, your website has
    big potential, for the monetizing method, just search in google – K2 advices how
    to monetize a website
    Manual recently posted…ManualMy Profile

  3. Yours Truly. ♥ (@RenzRupert)

    August 30, 2013 at 9:56 PM

    I want to read this one! It seems very interesting since it has the concept of Cinderella! 🙂

  4. Jun

    August 30, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    Sounds I will love this book! >.<

  5. meryvamp

    August 19, 2013 at 8:19 PM

    Sounds like I’d really love this book. I love smart, strong heroines. Thanks for the review. I’m gonna get to this one soon 🙂

  6. bhwrn1

    August 4, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    Absolutely loved this book. I have had Scarlet forever and still haven’t read it 🙁

  7. Sam

    June 24, 2013 at 5:51 PM

    I enjoyed this one as well. I thought it was super interesting and intriguing how Meyer portrayed this new take on the classic fairy tale. It was very unique. 🙂

  8. Jaime Lester

    June 20, 2013 at 11:06 PM

    How have I not read this book already? Honestly, something is seriously wrong with me. I want to read it and I have had the chance plenty of times, but something always gets in the way. I just need to stop and make it happen so that I can join in the praise of this wonderful author!

  9. Cali W.

    April 23, 2013 at 3:29 PM

    Great review! I really liked how this book mixed sci-fi with fairy tales. Can’t wait to read Scarlet. <3

  10. Nadine A

    April 21, 2013 at 5:46 AM

    Nice review! Cinder is one of those books I’m dying to read but haven’t got the chance to do so 🙁 you know, lack of money and lots of school stuff. Sigh.

  11. fifi

    April 21, 2013 at 3:16 AM

    love your review.. just got a copy of this, will read it soon :3

  12. Aly P

    January 16, 2013 at 4:08 AM

    This sounds very good, I have it on my TBR 🙂

    I love the quote 😀

  13. Bea Tejano

    December 22, 2012 at 1:23 AM

    Thanks for a great review!:) Excited to read this!

  14. Roxy Gillies

    December 16, 2012 at 5:59 PM

    I bought this book about 6 months ago but I still haven’t read it, I think I’m going to try it now. Thanks for the review.

  15. NURMA

    October 14, 2012 at 10:01 AM

    i really want to read this book..never read about android before….

  16. Grace Lo

    September 30, 2012 at 6:21 PM

    I love this book so much! I first got a copy from the library but just had to get a copy of my own! I really liked how although Cinder was beautiful, she also had her own “flaws.” (The cyborg part.) Besides, it’s a steampunk fairytale retelling! How can it get more epic? And the plot twist in the end was so . . . so unbelievably impossible to foresee.

  17. Jill

    September 15, 2012 at 2:06 PM

    I just won a copy of this on another blog, and I’m dying to read it. I really hope I like it as much as everyone else seems to.

  18. Pingback: booknerd | Feature: The Newbie’s Guide to Book Blogging Part 2 – The HTML

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: