create
counter

Review: ‘Dualed’ by Elsie Chapman

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Dualed’ by Elsie ChapmanDualed by Elsie Chapman
Published by Random House Publishing Group on February 26th, 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 292
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
four-stars
Two of you exist. Only one will survive.

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

West lives in a society where 10-20 year olds are called Alts. Until the Board gives them an assignment to murder their own twin (Alt) for a better more secure life. If they fail after thirty days, they both die. After a tragic death, that almost rips West apart, she turns to becoming a striker. An assassin who kills other Alts for her clients. Then the day where her assignment comes in and she has thirty-one days to find her Alt and kill her before she gets killed herself.

What an intense read! It had me gripped to the edge of my seat, kept me turning the page. There’s so much action I could picture every chapter in my head. I could see this book being made into a movie and it would be epic. I loved the world that Elise Chapman created. Imagining a city where there are two very distinct classes. Even their food, jobs and family are limited until they become a Complete. There was a vague summary of how the city came to be and I’m still a little confused as to how the cold virus could start wars around the world, so I wished there was a bit more explanation as to how it became to be.

West is definitely stubborn, and I love how she defends the people she loves, even if it means putting herself in danger. Having just lost her parent really puts a strain on her and her brother, the only family she has left. I find that characters are so much stronger and resilient when bad things happen to them. West is just the character to keep on surviving until the end. I couldn’t help but wince every time she would take down an Alt. The struggles that she has to go through impact her work and she would make mistakes. Chord on the other hand is decisive and knows exactly what to do. I find it a bit hilarious that he was always saving her at the last minute. And yes West can very well take of herself but I guess sometimes you do need help, especially if someone is out to get you.

What a wonderful debut novel! I can’t wait to read what else Elise has in store for us!

Characters
Lots of great characters to cheer for.

Pacing/Length
Fast paced and a page turner.

Cover/Design
Pretty much embodies the world and what the story’s about and look at her pose.

Plot
Done well, but I wanted more explanations.

Overall, a wonderful debut for anyone who loves science fiction and action.


quotes

So only the strongest survive, the smartest, the ones best able to complete. To shake us into a society of killers, all in the name of self-defense.
If being weak means not being able yo live with the memory of killing someone with your own hands, then maybe we should call weakness good. Being worthy should mean more than just being able to use a gun or hold a blade.
Why does it seem like I’m always thanking you, when you’re always driving me crazy?

rating

4/5

four-stars

34 Comments

  1. The Cover Contessa

    October 20, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    I had high hopes for this one. I loved the concept but I thought the execution could have been better. I only gave it a three.

  2. Diana Grace

    May 22, 2013 at 2:10 AM

    I don’t think I’ll be reading the book but it sure sounds really good! Thanks for the post, 🙂

    – Diana @amalia_chartres

  3. amy lovell

    April 22, 2013 at 10:13 AM

    cant wait to read this

  4. Alex U.

    April 21, 2013 at 1:26 PM

    This sounds so good! I’m reading a lot of great things about this book and I can’t wait to read it. Thanks for the review!

  5. Tina

    April 18, 2013 at 7:50 AM

    I can’t wait to read this book! Thank you for your honest review.

  6. Marinescu Simona

    March 31, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    I really enjoyed your review:X I will put this book on my wishlist righ now:)!

  7. Mary P

    March 30, 2013 at 10:43 PM

    This one did drag in the middle a bit, but I was stuck on the edge of my seat until the end. One thing I would like to see more of in the next book is how things are going outside the city and how the city and the outer world interact. Great review!

  8. Wolfswan1

    March 22, 2013 at 4:03 AM

    I like dystopian novel alot. This is a new concept for me as well. I cant wait to read it.
    Thx for the review

  9. Wolfswan1

    March 22, 2013 at 3:16 AM

    I have heard of Dualed before but I have not read a review before. Now that I did, it seems like an really exiting read. Thank you for the review.

  10. Grace Lo

    March 19, 2013 at 12:51 AM

    I’ve heard quite a few good and bad things about Dualed; some people loved it, while others couldn’t get past the draggy middle. Personally, I’m looking forward to reading Dualed soon. Thank you for the review! I especially enjoyed your take on West, like her persistence.

    Little thing I noticed on the cover, but am not sure if you did as well. The girl (I’ll assume that it’s West), and her shadow doesn’t match up. Perhaps it represents an Alt?

  11. Katherina Barney

    March 18, 2013 at 10:05 PM

    I’m looking forward to learning if the Alts are exactly like the originals or if they are the complete opposites; how does West know she is killing the right one? This has an interesting concept.

  12. Melinda Dartmann

    March 17, 2013 at 2:04 PM

    I could so go for this read! Alts, kick ass girl, love! Can’t beat it! Thanks for the review!

  13. Chantelle Ip

    March 15, 2013 at 10:49 PM

    I’ve been so excited to read Dualed but have never gotten around to it, I love the premise and I’m glad that you really enjoyed it, so it seems to have been done justice.

  14. Céline G.

    March 15, 2013 at 5:56 PM

    It sounds like a great book. I think I’m going to fall for it…

  15. Ashley Rogers

    March 14, 2013 at 4:59 PM

    This book is on my TBR list! I have heard a lot of good things about this book and I cannot wait to read this! Thank you for sharing!

  16. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    March 8, 2013 at 9:50 PM

    I can’t wait to read this one! It sounds so intriguing, and I really like the unique idea! Glad you enjoyed this one! 🙂

    Great review!

  17. may

    March 7, 2013 at 10:00 AM

    wonderful premise. sounds very promising! will look for it!

  18. Devon

    March 6, 2013 at 11:21 PM

    This one is definetly high on my TBR list =)

  19. Christina K.

    March 5, 2013 at 6:11 AM

    It’s awesome you loved it! It’s such a unique concept:)

    Lovely review:)

  20. Amber Hsu

    March 4, 2013 at 11:04 PM

    This book has been one of my most anticipated releases of 2013~ I love the whole idea of the story 🙂 Great review!

  21. Lindsay @ Me on Books

    March 3, 2013 at 2:39 AM

    It sounds weird, but when it’s a book by a Canadian author, especially a debut, I want people to enjoy it. And I’m glad you enjoyed it, Giselle. 🙂

    I agree, it’s very fast-paced, but West’s life is on the line, there must be a sense of urgency. And yes, some more back story on Kersh and the virus would’ve been helpful, but there is another book coming. 🙂

  22. Lily

    March 2, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    This looks like such a herat pounding read! I’m looking forward to this one although I have heard mixed things about this one 🙂
    Great Review Giselle!
    Lily

  23. Jaime Lester

    February 28, 2013 at 11:45 PM

    I have been waiting for a reviewer that I know has similar tastes as mine to review this one, because I have read some very negative reviews and I was honestly hoping that this one just wasn’t that dang bad. I am so glad that you enjoyed it. I can go into it now not believing that I will be disappointed. That makes me a happy camper! Thanks so much for the review!

    • Giselle

      March 2, 2013 at 9:56 PM

      YAY JAMIE! I’m so glad we have similar tastes 😛 Are we not friends on GoodReads? Because I will completely stalk your Currently Reading list!

  24. Lisa Richards

    February 28, 2013 at 8:53 PM

    I read this months ago as an ARC and loved it.

  25. Melissa

    February 28, 2013 at 4:04 PM

    I’m still debating this one…the world sounds so improbably that I can’t even make sense of the premise and an MC who is a hitwoman? Not sure this is for me…

  26. Alyssa Susanna

    February 28, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    Ahh, I am so glad to hear that you liked this book! I am really hesitant about the whole “Alt” thing, but I will definitely give this book a shot! 😀

  27. Ashley @ Book Labyrinth

    February 28, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    This one definitely sounds intense!! Hopefully I’ll get a chance to read it soon.

  28. Sam Kasbrick

    February 28, 2013 at 7:50 AM

    Great review…I can’t wait to read this one!!

  29. Brooke

    February 28, 2013 at 5:33 AM

    I was quite disappointed with this. I loved the concept. But it was just SO SLOW in the middle. It annoyed me. It started and ended with a bang. I will read the next one b/c I really have to know what happens.

  30. Amber

    February 28, 2013 at 12:42 AM

    I never heard of this one. I will have to check it out. Sounds pretty interesting. Thanks for the review! I adore your blog! 🙂
    -Amber

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: