create
counter

Review: ‘Everneath’ by Brodi Ashton

Review: ‘Everneath’ by Brodi AshtonEverneath by Brodi Ashton
Series: Everneath #1
Published by Balzer + Bray on January 24th, 2012
Genres: Love & Romance, Mythology, Supernatural, Young Adult
Pages: 370
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley, publisher unsolicited
three-stars
Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

About Brodi Ashton

I write Young Adult novels. I live for chocolate covered cinnamon bears. I love me some Diet Coke. My debut book EVERNEATH (the first in a trilogy) came out January 24, 2012 with Balzer and Bray (HarperCollins). The sequel EVERBOUND came out January 22, 2013 and the final installment, EVERTRUE, came out January of 2014. All three are available in paperback.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

everneath_brodi-ashton_all

I am very confused when reading this book. Maybe it had to do with the flashbacks? The story had very little plot and made the reader aware of very little details which I find completely annoying because it made it harder to read a book that way if you don’t even know why the characters are doing the things they do.

everneath_brodi-ashton_beginning

The author could have expanded on the mythology of the entire book not throw it at the ending in a couple of pages. I also did not understand why Nikki and James liked each other in the first place. There was no real explanation to anything.

everneath_brodi-ashton_first-page

I’m a little disappointed because I thought this would be an amazing read. Hopefully in the next book there would be an actual plot? I know it’s loosely based on the mythology myth but I just wished there was more substance.


quotes

Heroes are made by the paths they choose, not the powers they are graced with. (92)

I didn’t tell him I’d thought of him every day. That even when every other memory had faded, he never left. (145)

rating

3/5

three-stars

5 Comments

  1. meryvamp

    July 29, 2013 at 11:42 PM

    This review makes me wary. I hate it when authors don’t use flashbacks correctly. There is a creative way to using them, and then sometimes they are just thrown in there. I’m not so sure I’d enjoy this series.

  2. Cali W.

    April 29, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    I actually loved Everneath because I love Greek Mythology. The second book has a lot more action and you get to see the underworld of Everneath.

  3. Jaime Lester

    March 19, 2013 at 11:20 PM

    So, I have to admit that the first time I read this story I just wasn’t a fan. But I just reread it to refresh my memory so that I could go into Everbound knowing what I was reading without any holes. And I will say that I enjoyed the story much more this go around. I really enjoyed reading it. I got a lot more out of it this go around for some reason. It is completely strange, because the first time around my review would have sounded almost exactly like yours. Very weird how feelings can change. I have read several books that I loved the first go around, but the second I didn’t like at all. Thanks for the review, as always!

  4. Alyssa Susanna

    October 15, 2012 at 3:32 PM

    I’ll agree with the three stars that you liked it and it was worth the read. I sort of liked this book. I coulnd’t bring myself to like such a selfish heroine. Nikki is soooo selfish. he comes back to the Surface with selfish intentions, to say goodbye to everyone, and yet all she ends up doing is hurting everyone she loved. This has nothing to do with the guys issue that EVERY young adult book HAS to have. Another love triangle?! In the true myth of Hades and Persephone, there was just Hades. No one else. And while I felt sympathy towards Jack, and didn’t particularly like Cole, I think that Nikki should end up with neither boy, because she’s so selfish and self-absorbed. ugh. I’ll read Everbound, and Neverfall, and the third book, but I’m not sold on this trilogy, and definitely not invested enough. Thanks for the review!

  5. Grace Lo

    October 10, 2012 at 10:42 PM

    Everneath isn’t all that high on my love list either . . . Even though it wasn’t great in general, I did find the ending very interesting. Dat plot twist! And how in the end no one really “won.” Its cliffhanger is probably among the only reasons why its sequel’s on my TBR list . . .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: