create
counter

Review: ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ by E.L. James and Giveaway

Review: ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ by E.L. James and GiveawayFifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James
Series: Fifty Shades #1
Published by Vintage Books on June 20th, 2011
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 514
Format: Paperback
Source: bought in-store
one-star
When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

I managed to read a couple of chapters before stopping. It felt boring and flat. Then I picked it up again to give it another try. I kept thinking the book would get better but it didn’t. It got worse. This book was way too long and the pacing is all over the place. I kept thinking it would end. I kept praying that it would. I just wanted the book to stop already, but since I started the book I just had to know if she signs the contract. That’s what kept me hurrying to the next page. At one point my eyes glazed over and I even skipped a couple of chapters.

I get the Twilight retelling. Her best friend is in love with her, he tries to kiss her and Christian swoops in to save the day. I don’t honestly know why Christian is even attractive at all. He is possessive, controlling, domineering and in a couple of swift one-liners, Ana falls for him. Seriously? You’re not in love sweetie, you’re in lust. You barely know him, and he won’t even tell you about his past, yet you trust the man? And these whole dominate/submissive relationship is so odd. The way he controls her! It’s crazy! Can you imagine being with such a control freak? He even wanted to control what she ate!!!! I am appalled at his stalker abilities! This man raises a red flag Ana. Run the other way!! Also, I couldn’t possible understand how could she love someone who takes pleasure in giving pain? I don’t understand how she could care about him. He was abusive!

If Ana says another thing about her “inner goddess” I swear…I’ll scream. It’s so wildly annoying. And how in the world does she have such low self-esteem? Be confident for Pete’s sake! Christian Grey is into you and if you have doubts then lady I think you need a self-esteem check. Can you tell I didn’t particularly like Ana? How in the world did you fall for Christian? Maybe it was because he was good looking. That is the only thing she worships about him in the entire book. Oh Ana how I wished you thought with your head and heart instead of your loins.

Those sex scenes were NOT hot or steamy. It was a little frightening. Why in the world would you sleep with someone who enjoys giving pain? Yes, I’m talking about the one scene where he spanks her. No more like hits her. And I can’t even look at a tampon the same way again. That part made me cringe and I almost dropped the book. And that contract!!! Why was it plunked into the book? It seriously made me laugh out loud.

You can definitely tell that I did not care for any of the characters and most of this review was a rant about how much I disliked them. There wasn’t much to like in my case. I’ve read great romance novels and great erotica novels, and this one is NOT one of them.

Sorry everyone, but if you trust my judgement, please don’t waste your time reading this book.


 

contest giveaway

I bought the entire trilogy on a whim, and they’re in need of a good home..

You could win one prize pack of the trilogy that includes

  • Fifty Shades of Grey
  • Fifty Shades Darker
  • Fifty Shades Freed

Rules and Regulations

  • Ends on September 30th, 2012
  • Canadian residents only
  • Total prize value is approx $30 CAD
  • I will not be responsible for lost or damaged packages



quotes

No one’s ever said no to me before. And it’s so—hot.
I’ve never wanted more, until I met you.

rating

1/5

one-star

23 Comments

  1. Jun

    February 27, 2014 at 9:52 AM

    I dont take a risk to read this book. Cause I know I’ll dislike it 😆

    But, I’m looking forward for the film 😛
    Jun recently posted…Wishful WednesdayMy Profile

  2. amanda whitley

    September 26, 2013 at 12:42 PM

    i really wanted to like the book since it was so popular and i think the concept is cool but i agree about the pace. i would skim over many parts of the book.

  3. Teresa Salvatore (@NeedNewSpace)

    August 21, 2013 at 6:30 PM

    Hey Giselle,
    I, too, am not a fan of 50 Shades… I tried. Got twenty pages in and turfed it! UGH. Awful. Now, a good book that has a little bit of edge for those wanting to read something worth reading is, S.E.C.R.E.T. by L. Marie Adeline. I read is as part of a book club and was pleasantly surprised. I couldn’t put it down. Tasteful, yet fun and edgy.
    Cheers,
    Teresa

  4. Karen Maldonado

    August 15, 2013 at 1:10 AM

    I had a classmate last year who was so into the series, she tried to make us all read it. I put my foot down and refused because from what I’ve heard and from what I know I like, this series is not my thing.

  5. cumquat342003

    July 15, 2013 at 5:25 PM

    I have to admit, I loved the trilogy, I guess that makes me some sick and demented person…LOL…but I did enjoy your review! Quite funny!

  6. Jaime Lester

    March 29, 2013 at 11:04 PM

    People have been BEGGING me to read this trilogy for a long time. Even my sister. (Just…. Gross!) When she asked I told her that I would give it a shot. And I did try to give it an honest chance. But immediately I know that I wouldn’t enjoy it. Talk about badly written. But I kept on. Until I got to the first sex scene. After that, I was done and I will not pick it up again. Beg all you want people, but it ain’t happenin. Nuh Uh, No Way, No How!! Ana was an idiot. And Christian was sick. Only way to put it. That people think he is “oh so HOT” is beyond me. So, I am with you. TERRIBLE

  7. leighmarbella

    January 19, 2013 at 9:50 AM

    Nice review. I do believe that the series is an “acquired taste” It’s the type of novel that you either love or hate.

  8. Alina P.

    October 13, 2012 at 4:10 AM

    Great review! I had so much fun reading it 😀

  9. Tiff

    August 31, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    I entered the giveaway just because I refuse to buy these books, but I’m curious about all the fuss. I know they’re terrible, but I have to find out myself. I’m half hoping I don’t win because I dread reading these books, but I feel like as a book blogger, I have an obligation to tell people that I really do know how crappy they are. =p

    • Giselle San Miguel

      September 1, 2012 at 8:24 PM

      I was curious too! Which is why I bought the entire set..I guess I learned my lesson.. -_-

  10. Martina Koleva

    August 29, 2012 at 5:03 AM

    Against all common sense I actually liked the trilogy… I am painfully aware of all it’s flaws and all the idiotic moments and the Inner goddess that made me want to scream every time she was mentioned but I liked the books.. No idea why… Too bad the giveaway is CAN only. I would love to have the trilogy in PB…
    Great review though, I always enjoy reading them, negative or positive…

    • Giselle San Miguel

      September 1, 2012 at 8:26 PM

      Lol!! YESS the inner goddess has to go away..

      I love reading positive and negative reviews. This is why I love sharing our opinions in the community 😛

  11. Ashley

    August 28, 2012 at 11:01 PM

    THANK YOU!!!! I cry inside every time I see a rave review of Fifty Shades of Grey. I hold my tongue since I know we all have different opinions, but it’s such a breath of fresh air to read a review from someone who shares my thoughts.

    First, lol.

    “I bought the entire trilogy on a whim, and they’re in need of a good home..”

    I totally did that too. I kept hearing amazing things about the book and wanted the trilogy on hand in case I loved it. I hated it. So I ended up exchanging the last two books in the series and giving away the first one, since I’d already read it.

    But I agree with your review 100%. I was so disgusted with this book. I wanted to put it down and stop reading, but I kind of wanted to see if Ana would stay with Christian like a complete moron or not. And I have a little OCD when it comes to finishing books. But, god. I feel like Fifty Shades sends a HORRIBLE messages to readers. It’s basically saying:

    “It’s okay if your boyfriend beats you. Just tough it out a little longer because one day he might be the romantic, loving man you dream about.”

    I mean, seriously? SERIOUSLY?? Is that what we’re teaching women these days?

    That scene where he spanks/beats her is disgusting. She’s in tears and in her mind she’s begging him to stop, but she refuses to say so out loud because she “doesn’t want to give him the satisfaction.” Wow…

    Ultimately, I don’t even see this as a consensual BDSM relationship. Because Ana doesn’t want BDSM. She doesn’t want to be beaten. She just gives into it because she hopes that one day Christian will want a real relationship.

  12. Ann @ Tea And Text

    August 28, 2012 at 2:27 PM

    Your review is so spot on. I was sooo bored reading this whole thing, and it seems like she had dictionary/thesaurus diarrhea once in a while where she’d plunk in a totally random but big word. I just wish people would stop trying to convince me this is “good literature”, sure it’s getting people reading – but there’s so many better erotica/romance books than this.

  13. Kelly

    August 28, 2012 at 1:26 PM

    I’ve had a copy of 50 Shades sitting on my bookshelf for weeks now. I just can’t bring myself to pick it up, and reviews like this just further increase my hesitance!

    At this point I’ll read it just to see what all the fuss was about.

  14. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    August 26, 2012 at 8:50 PM

    I still haven’t gotten around to reading this. I’m not sure why it’s so hyped, maybe I won’t read it now..lol

  15. Mel@thedailyprophecy

    August 26, 2012 at 6:33 AM

    I decided a long time ago that I’m not going to read these books. I don’t like the sound of the characters or their unhealthy relationship. My heart breaks every time I see this book in the store, especially now the tagline here in The Netherlands says ‘best literature of this year’ (it was something like that.) LITERATURE? Really?

  16. Holly Warner

    August 26, 2012 at 4:05 AM

    I get why not everyone likes these books, but I went in to it thinking it would be kinda like a harlequin romance as I used to read those, and I found it to be ok, not the best, and not the worst I have read either.

  17. DannyBookwor

    August 26, 2012 at 2:59 AM

    Ah!!!!!i so understand your frustration! I also “read” it but couldn’t get past so many issues!!

    It was great as a. twilight fanfic, but she should have made it a story on its own…

    Thinner goddess thing!!? I wanted to scream!!!! Made me so fresking mad, lol!

  18. Mariya @ Mystifying Paranormal Reviews

    August 26, 2012 at 12:49 AM

    Haha! I honestly don’t get why this series is so popular and a movie in the making?! Like what?! I just didn’t see it either. I am so glad that I didn’t buy and just borrowed. That book just wasn’t really all that impressive. :/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: