create
counter

Review: ‘Finding Audrey’ by Sophie Kinsella and Contest Giveaway

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Finding Audrey’ by Sophie Kinsella and Contest GiveawayFinding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on June 9th, 2015
Genres: Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Format: ARC
Source: publisher unsolicited
four-stars
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

finding-audrey_sophie-kinsella_side

What happens to someone after they’ve been bullied? What goes on in their family, how do they cope with anxiety and the stress? Finding Audrey will show you all that.

finding-audrey_sophie-kinsella_title

You know those books where you just end up loving the family and their personalities because they’re realistic and so close? This is that family. I’ve never read about a family that I have loved since My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I pretty much fell in love with their family even if it was pretty dysfunctional. I loved the mom. She pretty much reminded me of Kinsella’s other chick lit characters and it was fun reading about that. As for the Audrey and her love interest, I didn’t really mind it nor did I care too much because I thought her family were the stars of the show.

finding-audrey_sophie-kinsella_first-page

The aftermath of someone who got bullied and how it affects her family, FINDING AUDREY has its serious moments as well its hilarious comic relief moments that Kinsella is a master at writing. So cute! I finished reading this with a huge smile on my face.

finding-audrey_sophie-kinsella_all


quotes

I’ve often noticed that people equate “having a sense of humour” with “being an insensitive moron.” (5)
The trouble is, depression doesn’t come with handy symptoms like spots and a temperature, so you don’t realize at first. You keep saying “I’m fine” to people when you’re not fine. You think you should be fine. You keep saying to yourself: “Why aren’t I fine?” (25)
You know, Allison at my book group doesn’t even have TV in the house. She says screens are the cigarettes of our age. They’re toxic, and we’re only going to realize the damage they’re doing when it’s too late. (114)
I don’t want to be tired. I don’t want to be overwhelmed. I want to kick this. (132)
I should just hide away. I shouldn’t even exist. What’s the point of me, anyway? (155)
You know they take notes on laptops these days? They don’t even know what pens are for. They think they’re styluses which are somehow leaking a weird substance. (179)

reading progress

finding-audrey_sophie-kinsella_reading-progress


contest giveaway

rules and regulations

  • Ends on July 1st, 2015 at 12:01AM (EST)
  • Canadian icon_canada  residents only.
  • Canadian residents must answer the skill-testing question correctly to qualify.
  • The publisher will be in charge of shipping.
  • Book Nerd Canada will not be responsible for lost or damaged packages.
  • Total prize value is approximately $22 CAD.
  • Twitter accounts that only post contest giveaway tweets will be automatically disqualified.
  • The three (3) winners will be announced on Twitter and in the Rafflecopter Widget.
  • For the complete set of rules and regulations click here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 

 

rating

4/5

four-stars

21 Comments

  1. Charlene A.

    June 30, 2015 at 6:00 PM

    I’ve read all of Sophie Kinsella’s books prior to ‘Finding Audrey’. Love them!

  2. Julie Dyer

    June 30, 2015 at 5:54 PM

    I’ve read Sophie’s Shopaholic series and loved it. 🙂 Easy, light and fun!

  3. sage

    June 28, 2015 at 9:16 PM

    I haven’t read any of Sophie Kinsella’s books yet, but my best friend read Finding Audrey and she said she loved it! She let me read an excerpt from it and i immediately fell in love with the book. It was exactly the type of book I would read. From what I read, I felt like I could relate to Audrey. I used to get really bad anxiety, until i found someone to talk to that soon became my friend, and my anxiety slowly got better. I can’t wait to get the book!

  4. KittyPride

    June 19, 2015 at 9:23 AM

    Yes, she writes in an easy to read flow, always funny bits.

    • giselle

      June 23, 2015 at 10:18 PM

      Her funny parts always crack me up

  5. Cindy

    June 18, 2015 at 4:11 PM

    I haven’t read any of Sophie Kinsella’s books yet, but this one sounds great!

  6. janna

    June 18, 2015 at 8:07 AM

    Thanks for the giveaway! Looks like a good book.

  7. Summer

    June 17, 2015 at 6:05 PM

    I haven’t read any of her books yet, this is the first one that’s really appealed to me. Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. Carole Dube

    June 15, 2015 at 10:20 PM

    I’ve read the first Confessions of a Shopaholic and enjoy reading the book. I love her style of writing, it’s very entertaining and I had a hard time putting the book down.

  9. Jenn

    June 14, 2015 at 7:49 PM

    I’ve read the first Confessions of a Shopaholic and I really enjoyed it.

  10. Gene D

    June 14, 2015 at 6:24 PM

    I haven’t read any of her books yet

  11. maria

    June 13, 2015 at 2:14 PM

    I have read all her previous books under Spohia Kinsella name. All fun reads!

  12. Andrea B.

    June 13, 2015 at 8:01 AM

    I have pretty much read all of Sophie’s books and loved them all. Thank you for this opportunity!.

  13. Andrea

    June 12, 2015 at 9:26 PM

    No I haven’t read any of her books yet.

  14. Mel

    June 12, 2015 at 5:13 PM

    I haven’t had the chance to read a Marissa Meyers book so far. I guess I have to add it to my list 🙂

  15. Megan

    June 10, 2015 at 11:59 PM

    So Glad you enjoyed this one. I almost picked it up today when I saw it at Costco.
    Megan recently posted…Review: The Fault in Our StarsMy Profile

  16. Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic

    June 10, 2015 at 8:18 AM

    I read this a few weeks back and whilst I really enjoyed it, there were a few things that prevented me from completely loving it but I’m glad you liked it! Great review!
    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic recently posted…Review – Nowhere But Here – Katie McGarryMy Profile

  17. vvb

    June 10, 2015 at 1:25 AM

    I always love how Sophie portrays her characters. And her sense of humor is hilarious. I am curious to see how the bullying is handled so will most likely include this on my tbr pile.
    vvb recently posted…Young Jane Austen: Becoming a Writer by Lisa PliscouMy Profile

  18. Meredith @ A Book Lover's Corner

    June 9, 2015 at 4:14 PM

    I loved this book! I was so excited to be reading another book by Sophie Kinsella. She’s honestly one of my top three favorite authors hands down. After I posted my review I was reading some reviews that were saying how she was being insensitive by using humor. I can see where they are coming from completely. However, Kinsella is a comedic writer. That’s her style. I thought there was a perfect balance between the seriousness of the issue and the comic relief. Awesome review!
    Meredith @ A Book Lover’s Corner recently posted…Fabled by Vanessa K. Eccles Book Blitz and Giveaway!My Profile

  19. Kelsey

    June 9, 2015 at 3:16 PM

    I think I’m adding this to my wishlist right now woo! I’ve been seeing the cover a lot but this is the first review I’ve read and I really want to read it now. 🙂
    Kelsey recently posted…Review: The Complete Grimm Chronicles by Isabella Fontaine and Ken BroskyMy Profile

  20. Preethi @ Time Turning Reads

    June 9, 2015 at 2:08 PM

    This book sounds adorable, and your review only makes me want to get it in my hands that much faster! I love when the family dynamics are great in a novel, because you get all these “happy-happy” feelings and like you said, end up reading with a smile on your face. I’m glad you enjoyed the novel!
    Preethi @ Time Turning Reads recently posted…Book & Gelato Pairings – 2015 YA EditionMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: