create
counter

Review: ‘Hex Hall’ by Rachel Hawkins

I received this book for free from bought in-store in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Hex Hall’ by Rachel HawkinsHex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Hex Hall #1
Published by Disney-Hyperion on March 2nd, 2010
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Supernatural, Witches, Young Adult
Pages: 323
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought in-store
four-stars
Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father—an elusive European warlock—only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tag-along ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

Sophie is a witch. After a horrible love spell gone terribly wrong, she’s punished by having to attend Hecate Academy where the Prodigim (other paranormal beings like her) are studying. Her roommate is the only vampire in the school, she has a crush on the hottest (yet annoying) warlock Jase, and three Dark Witches trying to make her life a living hell can be downright terrifying trying to be a witch at Hex Hall.

This book was simply just fun. I loved the world that Rachel has created. The history of how the Prodigim came to be was rather interesting. There is also one heck if a twist that I didn’t see coming which I enjoyed so much. I finished this book in one sitting and I couldn’t even wait for the next one. Luckily I had the next book already.

I love Sophie’s attitude and snarkiness. There’s something about a character that just makes you grip the pages and keep reading until it’s done. She is fierce, loyal, intelligent, brave and one of the most sarcastic and wittiest characters I have ever read. I just fell in love with her.

Characters
LOVE the main character Sophie..She’s now one of my favourites and the others all have such distinct and strong personalities.

Pacing/Length
A little slow in the beginning but it picks up!

Cover/Design
Pretty and it shows the dual personalities Sophie has.

Plot
Loved it! Interesting, funny and the mystery kept me up all night.

Overall, this trilogy has become one of my faves!


quotes

Who knew girls sucked just as bad as boys? (179)
Why are you working here, as like, Hagrid, or whatever? (199)
You’re not used to meeting women who don’t fall all over your ass like you’re in a boy band or something. (205)
I wonder why it is that we always want to hear people talk about us, even if it’s horrible stuff. (207)

rating

4/5

four-stars

21 Comments

  1. Pingback: Top Ten All-Time Favourite Fantasy Books

  2. Kate F.

    August 18, 2013 at 12:16 AM

    I’ve been wanting to read this for awhile. Thanks for the review!

  3. Diana Grace

    August 17, 2013 at 8:16 AM

    LOVED this! I love the cover and I just swooned for Archer 🙂

  4. Anita Powers

    August 15, 2013 at 7:20 PM

    I loved this review, I didn’t realize that this book would have funny parts and I like how you described the main character, this will be added to my TBR list.

  5. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    July 23, 2013 at 11:51 PM

    I cannot wait to read this! It sounds so fun and intriguing! I can’t wait to meet the characters. Glad you enjoyed this! Awesome review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #5: Top Ten Books I've Read So Far In 2013

  7. Jaime Lester

    June 19, 2013 at 11:28 PM

    One of my favorite series, hands down. I love Sophie. I love the whole series, beginning to end. Cannot wait to try School Spirits, the first book of the spinoff!

  8. Denise Z

    June 19, 2013 at 10:36 PM

    I was able to get this from the library and pretty much agree with your review being spot on. I enjoyed it and went right on to read the next installment,which I was luck enough to get at the same time. Thank you for sharing with us.

  9. bn100

    June 19, 2013 at 8:15 PM

    Interesting the character has dual personalities

  10. Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    June 19, 2013 at 7:07 PM

    I’ve been eyeing this series for a while…debating if it would be too teen for me.. I think I’ll give it a go:)

  11. Alyssa Susanna

    June 19, 2013 at 3:58 PM

    I’ve never read any of Rachel Hawkins’s books! I’ve never really been interested in this series. I’m glad that so many people like this series! I’ll have to add it to my growing list of popular series to read.

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  12. Darlene Ysaguirre

    June 17, 2013 at 10:20 PM

    Havent read any books with witches in them lately thanks for sharing the review..

  13. Nicole

    June 16, 2013 at 6:55 PM

    You can always count on Rachel Hawkins to deliver a read. I read all of the Hex Hall books and loved every one of them. As you said, they are just so much fun! I am hoping to pick up the spin-off series soon School Spirits! Glad you liked this one, I hope you like the others just as much!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  14. Karin

    June 16, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    Loved that book

  15. Joss Alvarado

    June 16, 2013 at 1:16 AM

    I wanna read it in this coming vacations finally! Im so excited about it!

    Thank you so muc for your review! 🙂

  16. Najwa Shufia

    June 16, 2013 at 12:31 AM

    I want to read it badly, unfortunately i can’t find it at the bookstore in my city although the second book and the third book was there

  17. Leeanna

    June 15, 2013 at 11:18 AM

    Hex Hall is definitely a great series, the first two books, anyways. I miss Sophie and Jenna!

  18. Ratri Anugrah

    June 14, 2013 at 9:59 PM

    Hey I can’t believe you just read this! The book has been translated into my language and yes I love it 🙂 But I haven’t bought the next book. I think I’ll get the ebook cause paperback is expensive nowadays.

  19. nurmawati djuhawan

    June 14, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    i like this series..
    i read in indonesia language 🙂
    thx u for the review…

  20. Tiffany

    June 14, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    excited to read this soon!

  21. Christina K.

    June 14, 2013 at 11:17 AM

    LOVED Hex Hall! The voice is perfect and so so funny:)

    It’s an interesting world with depth:)

  22. may

    June 13, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    I read the entire series and liked it. And yes, who doesn’t love a snarky heroine? 🙂 I was sad when the series end. I read the spin-off School Spirits and didn’t like it as much…

  23. Brooke

    June 13, 2013 at 5:56 AM

    I really liked this book. Actually, I liked the whole series a lot. I got a chance to read School Spirits early and I wasn’t impressed, tho.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: