create
counter

Review: ‘Juliet Immortal’ by Stacey Jay

Review: ‘Juliet Immortal’ by Stacey JayJuliet Immortal by Stacey Jay
Series: Juliet Immortal #1
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on August 9th, 2011
Genres: Historical, Love & Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought in-store
four-stars
Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick'sHush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.


The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

Juliet and Romeo are on the sides of good and evil. Juliet on the dude of good, the Ambassadors. Romeo on the dude if evil, the Mercenary. Together they find soul-mates to protect and keep their charges on their side. Until a certain mate she’s encountered appears, everything turns around even she starts to fall in love.

The point of view change from the past to the present. Two point of views from Juliet who is now in Ariel’s body and Romeo who is in Dylan’s body. It’s incredibly heart breaking to see these two characters duke it out when you know they’re literature’s epic characters of romantic love of all time. Especially when one side is good and the other is evil. I sympathized with Juliet who was trying very hard to help the soul mates that she was in charge of. She not only felt like Juliet Capulet but she also acted like Shakespeare’s Juliet. I loved how Stacy Jay tied the play and modern day settings into one. It was brilliant to say the least. I also couldn’t help but feel pity for Romeo. After being poisoned by the very evil that Juliet is fighting, he eventually realized in the end it was wrong.

I don’t recommend this book if you don’t enjoy instant love and instant lust. If you enjoy a different take on Romeo and Juliet then be sure to pick this one up. It had me turning the pages for more. I’m truly looking forward to reading the next book in this series.


quotes

He is a romantic, a dreamer, and never afraid to play the fool. He is fearless and reckless and brave and I love him for it. Desperately. Love for him steaks my breath away, makes me feel I am dying and being reborn every time I look into his eyes or run trembling fingers through his brown curls. (1)
I guess I just…wish things were different, that people’s lives weren’t so hard. (33)
Best friends are always interesting. Who your friends are can say a lot about a person. (87)
You do matter. You matter to me. (134)
I hate the Ambassador for trapping me with my own compassion, for forcing me to work for the good of humanity even when humanity seems the furthest thing from good. (181)
I hate that I’ve spent so many years fighting for love when my own love was stolen away. (181)
Hold love highest in your heart and all good things will follow. (259)
Love doesn’t want people to stay ignorant and frightened. Love doesn’t value obedience over all else. Love doesn’t judge and find some lives—or loves—more valuable than others. Love doesn’t use people and throw them away. Love stays, and makes you stronger, even when the person you love is gone. (285)

rating

4/5

four-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: