create
counter

Review: ‘Lies Beneath’ by Anne Greenwood Brown

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Lies Beneath’ by Anne Greenwood BrownLies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown
Series: Lies Beneath #1
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on June 12th, 2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Mermaids, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 303
Format: Hardcover
Source: publisher unsolicited
three-stars
Fans of Amanda Hocking's novel, Wake, will dive into this paranormal romance featuring mermaids--the killer kind--and won't come up for air!

Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids. To survive, Calder and his sisters prey on humans and absorb their positive energy. Usually, they select their victims at random, but this time around, the underwater clan chooses its target for a reason: revenge. They want to kill Jason Hancock, the man they blame for their mother's death.

It's going to take a concerted effort to lure the aquaphobic Hancock onto the water. Calder's job is to gain Hancock's trust by getting close to his family. Relying on his irresistible good looks and charm, Calder sets out to seduce Hancock's daughter Lily. Easy enough, but Calder screws everything up by falling in love--just as Lily starts to suspect there's more to the monster-in-the-lake legends than she ever imagined, and just as the mermaids threaten to take matters into their own hands, forcing Calder to choose between them and the girl he loves.

One thing's for sure: whatever Calder decides, the outcome won't be pretty.

About Anne Greenwood Brown

I am represented by Jacquie Flynn of Joëlle Delbourgo Associates, Inc., and my debut novel, LIES BENEATH, will be published by Random House (Delacorte Press) on June 12, 2012 (Francoise Bui, editor). Mondadori will publish it in Italian, and Milan Editions will publish it in French. The sequel, DEEP BETRAYAL will be released March 12, 2013. I am also a guest blogger on Writer Unboxed.

I live in Minnesota with my amazingly patient husband and our three above-average children.

Book OutletThe Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

I’ve seen this book before it hit shelves and I have to say it caught my eye. Mermaids are this hot new trend now. No more vampires, but mermaids. Killer mermaids to be exact. And no better mermaid who wants to avenge his father’s death than Calder. Yup, it’s a merman to be exact. In this novel, his sisters are the evil conniving ones bringing men into the water and drowning them taking away all their emotions so they can feed themselves. In a way, humans are like food. The plan is to lure their father’s killer’s son into the water and murder him. Only Calder realizes he’s falling in love with his daughter, Lily.

Lily on the other hand, is your average teenage girl. Through Calder’s eyes, you can figure out the moment he falls in love with her. Although in my own opinion, she had no personality, except for her love of Victorian written poems. Anne Greenwood Brown is a master at character development, but with plot she lacked the pacing and tone that kept me wanting to keep reading the book! I had to put it down just so I can read another book because I was so very bored. I don’t think I could have managed to keep reading about how Lily was wonderful and beautiful and all things angelic anymore. I do liked Calder. He seems honorable and straddling the line of good vs evil, he always picked the good side. In the end, I was completely rooting for him and I’m glad I kept reading because the ending made me want to pick up the next book. Maybe this time there will be some action?

Overall Lies Beneath is not your average mermaid story. It’s about revenge, mystery and of course romance. I can’t help but wonder if the next book is in the viewpoint of one of the sisters. They were so much more interesting considering their evil plans. Muahahah!


rating

3/5

three-stars

9 Comments

  1. bhwrn1

    August 7, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    I absolutely loved this book. Not so much the second one. I much preferred Calder’s POV. I read this in just one sitting!

  2. Cali W.

    May 26, 2013 at 2:47 PM

    Cool review! I like that the POV comes from a guy; don’t read that too often. Scary mermaids!

  3. Gaby

    November 15, 2012 at 9:30 PM

    Your first paragraph led me to believe that the romance was going to be between Calder and John Hancock. *sigh* I guess a girl can dream, right? Nice review 🙂

  4. Alyssa Susanna

    October 21, 2012 at 4:55 PM

    Yay I got this book from the library!!! I liked it for the most part. Most people liked it. And Anne is super nice. I’m not a huge fan of mermaid storyies (The Little Mermaid, ew), but killer mermaids – that’s fine with me. Thanks for the review!!!! Can’t wait for Deep Betrayal 🙂
    Alyssa Susanna <3

  5. Grace Lo

    October 11, 2012 at 1:32 AM

    I love darker stories, and I figured that Lies Beneath would be no exception. I was actually quite excited by it (duh, killer mermaids?), but I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought one would . . .

  6. Susan OBryant

    September 16, 2012 at 7:16 PM

    I’ve always been interested in mermaids, but killer mermaids? I’m not sure I’d go for that! But this book sounds interesting, anyway. 🙂 I like your reviews a lot – not too long, very honest, and right to the point.

  7. Mel@thedailyprophecy

    July 8, 2012 at 10:42 AM

    I thought Lily was a lovely girl 🙂 I only wished I got to know her more: she felt so distant. The same with Calder. I always felt like he was holding his thoughts back from me. But overal, I liked the whole killer mermaids.

    Thanks for the honest review.

  8. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    July 5, 2012 at 8:13 PM

    I liked this book. It was the first mermaid book I’ve read and I think it was an ok intro to that genre. I have to agree with you that mermaids seem to be the next big thing! lol Glad you liked it a bit, the ending did make up for the semi boring parts!

  9. Suzanne

    July 5, 2012 at 6:17 AM

    I liked this, I didn’t love it. I think I gave it three stars too. I liked Lily though, and I didn’t like the sisters lol. I think the next book is written in Lily’s POV. Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: