create
counter

Review: ‘Lucid’ by Adrienne Stoltz and Ron Bass

I received this book for free from won in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Lucid’ by Adrienne Stoltz and Ron BassLucid by Adrienne Stoltz and Ronald Bass
Published by Razorbill on October 2nd, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance, Mystery, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 343
Format: ARC
Source: won
four-stars
What if you could dream your way into a different life? What if you could choose to live that life forever?

Sloane and Maggie have never met. Sloane is a straight-A student with a big and loving family. Maggie lives a glamorously independent life as an up-and-coming actress in New York. The two girls couldn't be more different--except for one thing. They share a secret that they can't tell a soul. At night, they dream that they're each other.

The deeper they're pulled into the promise of their own lives, the more their worlds begin to blur dangerously together. Before long, Sloane and Maggie can no longer tell which life is real and which is just a dream. They realize that eventually they will have to choose one life to wake up to, or risk spiraling into insanity. But that means giving up one world, one love, and one self, forever.

This is a dazzling debut that will steal readers' hearts.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Sloane who is this passive aggressive sweet teenage girl who is mourning the loss of her best friend Billy. Her family who supports her, her best friends Gordy, Lily and Dana are always there for her when she needs them, her future is set on attending Columbia University. Then there’s Maggie, the complete opposite of Sloane. A young teenage actress who navigates the alligator infested waters of the Hollywood scene. She’s an actress with a mother who cares more about herself than her two daughters. Maggie promptly takes care of her younger sister and in doing so, has no time for a social life. When Sloane falls asleep, she dreams of Maggie’s life, and vice versa. But once these very different girls fall in love, everything is on the line, including their hearts. Are they going insane or is one going to just disappear?

I almost stopped reading this. The beginning is so long. It dragged on and on about the lives of these two girls. So different, yet so alike at the same time. There was so much detail. SO much. I believe I didn’t need to know everything that was going on in the two characters lives, but maybe the authors wanted me to know what was going on. Well I’m glad to say that I didn’t stop, and I’m glad I kept going because the twist at the end was worth it.

Completely thought provoking, with twists and turns that doesn’t seem to end, I was confused the ENTIRE TIME reading this. The mind twists start at the 200+ page so make sure you pay close attention to the last few hundred pages.

Well done Adrienne and Ron, you kept this lady from guessing the real truth. I love that you twisted my mind into a pretzel. Definitely a must-read for any contemporary fan.


rating

4/5

four-stars

23 Comments

  1. Tanya C

    December 2, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    I think I will have to give it a try. Always looking for something I wouldn’t normally read.

  2. Christiane C.

    November 18, 2012 at 8:46 AM

    First time I heard of this book but it sounds really interesting, definitely adding to my TBR list. Thanks, Awesome Review 😀

  3. Dorothy Reading

    November 15, 2012 at 3:57 AM

    This book looks really intense. Not sure if it’s my thing, but I’m definitely intrigued. I might give it a go.

  4. Lisa @ Lost in Literature

    November 14, 2012 at 7:07 PM

    I’ve been hearing such great things about this! And I just adorable the cover. I’m a little hesitant as I extremely dislike when the beginning is slow, since it makes me not want to keep reading… but I may still give this one a try. 🙂 Thanks for the great review!

  5. Imel Cullen

    November 14, 2012 at 9:46 AM

    thanks for review, it’s so great.. so I’m add this book on TBR 🙂

  6. Gaby

    November 13, 2012 at 10:00 PM

    I haven’t seen a ton of reviews for this book but, the ones that I have seen have said that this one is amazing, I was hesitant when I kept seeing it at the store, I would pick it up and read the cover, and then put it down. I still don’t know if to read it or not. Great review!

  7. Grace Lo

    November 12, 2012 at 10:41 PM

    My gosh. I’ve had my eye on this for a while, but didn’t realize it was so complex. The idea of the story was already interesting enough, but I love how the authors used the two polar opposite characters to create something like this! Need to read this soon!

  8. Erika

    November 11, 2012 at 7:38 PM

    Wow, this looks complex but still intrigued. I am not a fan of a slow beginning but I’ll try to give this a try. Thanks for your thoughts!

  9. DeeDee Griffin

    November 11, 2012 at 3:16 PM

    This is a really interesting concept! I tend to lose interest quickly when there are large sections of information dump, so it’s good to know that things will pick up once I make it through those parts.

  10. Jessica

    November 11, 2012 at 1:48 PM

    This sounds a lot more interesting than I thought! I didn’t expect it to get so mind-twisty at the end; that sounds really intriguing. I think I’ll have to give this one a try!

  11. brandileigh2003

    November 10, 2012 at 8:48 PM

    Glad you ended up liking it, but I prb couldn’t read myself with long beginning and excess of details…. Maybe when I get that extra five hours in a day, lol.
    Thanks for review.
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  12. Holly W

    November 10, 2012 at 2:28 PM

    I have heard so much about this book I am for sure going to have to pick it up! Thanks for the heads up about not giving up on it at the beginning, I will for sure read it through.

  13. Carol

    November 10, 2012 at 8:25 AM

    I’ve been wanting to read this one ever since I first read the summary on Goodreads. I’m glad you finish it & like it because I’m pretty sure I’l buy it next. Thanks!!

  14. Christina K.

    November 10, 2012 at 5:20 AM

    It’s awesome you continued reading and loved it! It sounds like a unique concept:)

    Awesome review:)

  15. Jaime Lester

    November 10, 2012 at 1:36 AM

    You scared me with the first part of that review! I am so glad that I kept reading. Whew. I have been looking forward to this one for a long time too. The cover is amazing and the synopsis just sealed the deal. I am so glad that things turned around and you ended up enjoying it. I am seriously excited about this book!

  16. Daniela

    November 10, 2012 at 12:14 AM

    Whoa. I’ve been wanting to read this one ever since I read the summary. I’m usually into this type of book. Sounds like I need to pay a visit to the library tomorrow 🙂

  17. Brent

    November 9, 2012 at 4:49 PM

    sounds interesting

  18. Sarah O

    November 9, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    I’ve seen this book around a lot (I always remember the cover) but haven’t heard too much about it. I think it says a lot about the rest of the book that you still gave it a 4/5 after the beginning. Might have to check this one out!

    • Giselle

      November 9, 2012 at 12:49 PM

      I only gave it a 4/5 because of the pacing. It was sooooo long..I almost gave up lol but yes, I definitely recommend it.

  19. Ashley

    November 9, 2012 at 12:14 PM

    Wow sounds like a total mindfuck LOL. I’ve heard some really good things about this book but I’m not sure it’s for me. Really long beginning, totally confusing story.. meh. I think I’ll skip it!

    Digging that cover though. 😀

    • Giselle

      November 9, 2012 at 12:53 PM

      Oh it most definitely is. If you ever watched Inception, then I can definitely say this book is just like that movie.

      I love the purple they used.

  20. Jen (A Reading Daydreamer)

    November 9, 2012 at 12:19 AM

    I’ve heard quite the amazing reviews for this one! But now that you put it this way–confusing and mind-boggling–I’m a little nervous. I absolutely HATE being confused during a novel, it causes me to put the book down. 🙁 I hope the detail in the beginning ends up being worth it later on. Great review, Giselle! Thanks for being honest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: