create
counter

Review: ‘Mystic City’ by Theo Lawrence

I received this book for free from NetGalley, requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Mystic City’ by Theo LawrenceMystic City by Theo Lawrence
Series: Mystic City #1
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on October 9th, 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 397
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley, requested from publisher
two-stars
For fans of  Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud - and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths.

But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place.

Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection - and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city - including herself.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

The Roses and Forrestors are powerful families that are divided in what now believes to be Manhattan, New York. The deadly cost of global warming has risen sea levels, and the city has taken up to live upwards in skyscrapers. The citizens are divided beneath the two families, but there are also the non mystics and rebel mystics. Mystics are dangerous (or so Aria is led to believe). Her family vows to reunite the two feuding families with her marriage to the handsome Thomas. When Aria wakes up with no memories of being engaged to him at all, and with memories of a love with a faceless stranger she begins to question what her family’s intentions are up to. Then she meets a mystic boy named Hunter, and life as she knows it, is turned upside down.

As for Aria, I fully support that she’s a wealthy teenage girl who happens to be emotionally abused by her politically-hungry family, but I seriously needed her to be stronger than she was portrayed. And her family!! Talk about dysfunctional! Her father is a power hungry murderer, her mom is just as bad and her older brother is a Sic user. Her entire family is crazy! Yikes! At least Aria isn’t like them. I pity her. I felt bad for her. Can I say that her family is probably quite toxic, and she should just get the heck out of there? (Yes, I’m giving advice to a completely fictional character.) Then there are secondary characters like Thomas, whom I just want to slap. Handsome, and conniving, he is a full blown liar. (Girls, don’t fall for a pretty face, the inside won’t necessarily match the outside.) The only character that I remotely held any any interest to is Davida. She’s kind and loyal and always has Aria’s back. (Please Theo Lawrence, include some moral, heart-warming characters to root for?) And the love interest Hunter, I completely forgot about him. He’s sweet, and romantic and cute, but what about his personality? I needed more character development!

The book is terribly predictable, and other than the one twist, the plot was indeed fast paced, as I flew through the pages rather quickly. The world building isn’t fully formed as other novels, but I can say it was rather realistic. Their technology isn’t as advanced as our technology today, so it’s not like I was oohing and aahhing about the marvels of their scanners. I also find it highly amusing that their cell phones are called “TouchMes.” (Excuse me, while I gag.) I can understand this book is targeted toward the young adult audience, but I felt it was too immature and lacking any depth. The romance (thank God!) wasn’t the main focus, but the mystery was, which I thankfully can praise.

I can definitely vouch and say this book will keep you entertained, but if you’re looking for a more fluffier YA novel to read, then Mystic City is definitely for you. Just keep an open mind about certain parts since I can definitely say one part did make me think, “WTF!”


quotes

I’d imagine you’re the kind of girl who is good at everything you do.
I can’t can’t hear you. I don’t converse with assholes.
I want to spend the rest if my life with someone because I want to, not because I have to.

rating

2/5

two-stars

27 Comments

  1. The Cover Contessa

    October 19, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    I love the cover on this book. And it sounds awesome! Will have to put it on my TBR!

  2. Denise Z

    June 26, 2013 at 12:49 AM

    I have had this on my wishlist it seems forever. I am sorry it was a disappointment for you; wow, I really wanted this one to be a great one. I love the cover and synopsis LOL

  3. Alex U.

    June 24, 2013 at 12:37 AM

    The cover is absolutely gorgeous! My sister has this book so I might read it because it does sound interesting. Thank you for the review.

  4. Filia Oktarina

    June 20, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    The cover book look interesting, but you just give 2 star.
    maybe must read ebook first.
    Thanks for your review 🙂

  5. nurmawati djuhawan

    April 21, 2013 at 1:53 AM

    i am still waitong for my book is coming from TBD …so i do n’t know if i like the book or not….

  6. Armando Read

    March 31, 2013 at 11:48 PM

    The cover of this book is really, really nice, I like so much the firl and the background. I hope the book will be good too.

  7. Jessica

    November 18, 2012 at 2:06 PM

    Hmm. This is disappointing! I was hoping it would be a good one but you’ve touched on a lot of points that would likely bother me. The mention of Breaking Dawn scares me a little, and I hate not having a character I want to root for and love!

  8. Alina P.

    October 21, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    Damn. I wanted to buy this one as a present… Not so sure now.

    Thank you for the review.

  9. Diana Dimovska

    October 15, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    This book sounds amazing! It’s a must read!

  10. mamabunny13

    October 15, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    You’ve piqued my interest for this book! Tahnks for sharing.

  11. PamM

    October 14, 2012 at 5:29 PM

    I have this to read. Sorry to see it wasn’t to your liking but great review of it.

  12. Felicia

    October 14, 2012 at 2:56 AM

    I’ve heard/read mixed reviews about this book, but I was really intrigued by the cover and synopsis, so I think I still want to read this book and see how the book is (which reviews I agree with lol)
    Thanks for your honest opinion and review! 🙂

  13. Cyn

    October 13, 2012 at 12:56 PM

    aww that’s too bad you didn’t really like it, I’ve really been seeing mixed review for this book so I can’t decided if I want to read it yet haha.

  14. Lynn K.

    October 12, 2012 at 5:51 AM

    Yikes, that doesn’t sound good. I was really looking forward to this…I really don’t like books with predictable plots. :O

  15. Karina A.

    October 12, 2012 at 12:55 AM

    First, I love the cover! Second, it’s a good thing it doesn’t focus on romance. And lastly, I think it’s unnecessary to place the “for fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men..” because expectations will be so much higher.
    Too bad you you just gave this a 2/5. Thanks for your honest opinion!

  16. Ashley Chen

    October 11, 2012 at 11:46 PM

    LOL, heard many thinks about this book. Great review. I really dislike predictable books. Haha, at least this book didn’t focus on romance. LOL I laughed so hard at the “TouchMes” part. Great, great review!

  17. jade

    October 11, 2012 at 11:31 PM

    I’m still deciding if I wanna read this book…. but 2 stars? mmm…. i’ve read so many mixed review but a lot of them mention the same problems you do . i liked you review.

  18. Jaime Lester

    October 11, 2012 at 10:49 PM

    Well crap. Crap, crap, crap, crap, crapcrapcrapppp! That is incredibly disappointing. This is another book that I have been looking forward to in a huge way. Crap! Oh well, at least the cover is still awesome in a huge way!

  19. Grace Lo

    October 11, 2012 at 8:02 PM

    Usually, I’d read this book, but I’m a bit disturbed by its relation to Breaking Dawn . . . And since this one’s a dystopia, and you, a huge dystopia fan, don’t like it, I’m very hesitant to go and hunt it down . . .
    Thank you for the honest review, and hope that your next book is more satisfying!

  20. Jenn@OwlReadIt

    October 11, 2012 at 1:29 PM

    Aww, it’s too bad you didn’t enjoy this one so much. I really want to read it and had a copy for review but lost it somehow when NetGalley changed their site around 🙁

    I’m going to on the lookout for this one, hopefully I will enjoy it a bit more, I do really like quick moving dystopias!

    Thanks for the review!

  21. krsz

    October 11, 2012 at 12:02 PM

    I had expectations from this book… I don’t know if I should read it. I’m sorry you did’t like it

  22. Mariya @ Mystifying Paranormal Reviews

    October 11, 2012 at 11:53 AM

    I’m still deciding if I wanna read this book!

  23. Erika

    October 11, 2012 at 9:44 AM

    Sounds interesting. I love dystopians but lately some I’ve found are falling flat. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one. I will keep it in mind:)

  24. nurmawati djuhawan

    October 11, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    only 2 stars….i love the book’s cover but still thinking about buying the book or not…
    well maybe i read the ebooks first..thx 4 honest review 🙂

  25. Christina K.

    October 11, 2012 at 4:59 AM

    Too bad you didn’t enjoy it:)

    Haven’t seen a dystopian retelling of Romeo and Juliet like this one.

  26. Sarah O

    October 11, 2012 at 2:36 AM

    haha it scares me that you compare this book with Breaking Dawn in any way. I know multiple people who read the first three books and just didn’t even bother finishing BD when they got to the WTF part. I find this has a very strange concept behind it. Kind of a dystopian anti-Romeo&Juliet. Actually, that sounds like a book I’d read, but just not this version of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: