create
counter

Review: ‘Of Poseidon’ by Anna Banks

I received this book for free from requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Of Poseidon’ by Anna BanksOf Poseidon by Anna Banks
Series: The Syrena Legacy #1
Published by Feiwel & Friends on May 22nd, 2012
Genres: Love & Romance, Mermaids, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 324
Format: ARC
Source: requested from publisher
four-stars
Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he's heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma's gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom...

Told from both Emma and Galen's points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

About Anna Banks

Grew up in a town called Niceville. No, seriously. I graduated from Niceville High School. So did J Lo's second husband. And the guy that plays Aqua Man on Smallville dated my best friend.

Now I indulge my tendency to lie by writing the lies down and selling them to publishers. Well actually my agent sells it, so she's an accomplice to lies. One of my lies is called OF POSEIDON. The sequel is called OF TRITON. The last and final installment is OF NEPTUNE, and it released May 13, 2014. Be on the lookout for JOYRIDE, my YA Contemporary out June 2, 2015--Bonnie & Clyde meets Latina Pretty in Pink!

And um. I also write adult fiction under pen name Anna Scarlett. One of the adult lies is DEGREES OF WRONG.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Emma a normal teenage girl is vacationing in Florida with her best friend Chloe, when one day she runs into a handsome boy that makes her feel different. Different in a way that attraction can make a person feel disoriented. She doesn’t understand it when he shows up at school where he manages to be in almost each of her classes. What she doesn’t know is that Galen is a prince. A prince of the Syrenia people who live in the sea and can have legs and fins.

I rather enjoyed reading through Emma’s eye and seeing a whole new mystical world unearth right in front of her. Confusing as the Syrenia world is, she quickly understands and accepts it which I thought was odd because I’d feel crazy to think such a thing as mermaids existed.

I liked the viewpoints of both Emma and Galen. I enjoy reading from the boy’s perspective at times because it’s so brand new and fresh. And that ending made me fall off my seat! I need the next book now!

Full of twists and turns, and drama built at its finest, Of Poseidon gave me another reason to love the sea and all its creatures under the deep.


rating

4/5

four-stars

12 Comments

  1. Mikky

    May 15, 2014 at 4:56 PM

    Ever since I saw this cover I have been in love with it! I really need to up this near the top of my huge TBR pile C;
    Mikky recently posted…Cover Reveal: Sticks and Stones (The Wish Makers #1) By Shawn McGuireMy Profile

  2. Bube

    September 21, 2013 at 3:03 PM

    Looking foward to read this book,sounds really good 🙂

  3. Karen Maldonado

    August 15, 2013 at 1:17 AM

    I loved this book and Galen is swoon worthy.

  4. Cali W.

    May 31, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    Great review! I love mermaid type books. I loved this story about Emma, however I din’t like the cliff hanger at the end. 😉

  5. Jamie (Jay)

    May 21, 2013 at 9:55 PM

    Hmmm.. I was looking for a good ocean book for this summer. I may have to look into this.

  6. Linh

    March 31, 2013 at 12:39 PM

    Great review, I really enjoyed this book as a fun, light read!

  7. Bea Tejano

    January 31, 2013 at 8:31 PM

    This is up next on my TBR list!:) Thanks for such a wonderful review:) I’m really excited to get started on it:)

  8. Alyssa Susanna

    October 16, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    I really liked this book!!!! I think I gave it four or four and a half. I love Galen, but not just because he’s hot and nice and whatever. All of those things are great. But, he’s a more likable character than Emma (love the names by the way!). I found Emma a little distasteful sometimes (NOT often). I can’t wait to read the next book(s)!!!! Thanks for the review!!!!

  9. Cassi

    October 14, 2012 at 7:56 AM

    I really liked this booko too. I though it had some good humor here and there.
    Good review!

  10. amel armeliana

    October 12, 2012 at 9:55 PM

    At first, I really want to read this book because the cover is totally gorgeous! And then I read the synopsis and loved it.
    Thanks for the review. It’s great.

  11. Brasil

    June 26, 2012 at 11:58 PM

    I did enjoy reading this first book of what looks like a new trilogy. It was quite a fast read – not much mulling over the plot or characters was required. The characters still need a good bit of fleshing out, but it is easy to root for the main character Emma.

    Emma is a typical teenage girl, albeit a bit clumsy. She doesn’t really like the water, is basically a good kid, is raised by her single mom with whom she has a good relationship with, and her best friend is a character that I would loved to have seen more of in future books. She did seem to adapt a bit too quickly to the changes in her life, though I would guess to show the character going through months of therapy to accept the fact that she is a mermaid would slow the story down quite a bit.

  12. Majanka

    March 8, 2012 at 4:14 AM

    I have a review copy of this book as well, but didn’t get around to reading it yet. I’d love to read a book from both perspectives once – male and female – so I’ll probably like this one a lot. I’m also a big fan of mermaids and the world below the sea.

    Nice review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: