create
counter

Review: ‘Partials’ by Dan Wells

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Partials’ by Dan WellsPartials by Dan Wells
Series: Partials Sequence #1
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th, 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 468
Format: ARC
Source: publisher unsolicited
five-stars
For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runnercomes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

partials_dan-wells_all

Humans created the Partials long ago by ParaGen. They created the ultimate super being. Stronger, faster, smarter to help aid in modern warfare for the enemy hostiles. Then the Partials created the RM virus, wiping away almost the entire human population with a few being immune to the virus.

We find Kira, a 16 year old medical intern, who works and lives in East Meadow. She assists in the pregnancy ward of the hospital. Her best friend Madison becomes pregnant, and knowing that the virus will kill the new born baby she sets off on a mission to help her friend and the rest of her species. Along the way she meets friends and foes and even figures out the mystery of where she came from.

partials_dan-wells_title

I was dying for this book and I was lucky enough to receive an ARC (THANK YOU HarperCollins! 🙂 And boy I was not disappointed. Dan Wells writes with the pacing, tone and style set for a post-apocalyptic setting that most YA authors are writing about these days. And Mr. Wells is a great story teller. It reads like a movie. I felt like I was right there as one of the characters walking in East Meadow making do with what I had after 99.996% of the human population had been decimated.

partials_dan-wells_first-page

Yes the book starts of slow, but what after reading more and more, your mind is set into Kira’s world where things aren’t what they seem to be. This book ends on a cliffhanger so I am warning you, you will get frustrated! I know I was!

This book is chock full of mystery, suspense action and a tinge of romance.


quotes

There was another group, not so long ago, who used the same methods—a group who didn’t like the way things were and decided to rebel. They were called Partials. The difference is that the Partials were unthinking, unfeeling, inhumane killers. They kill because that’s what we built them to do. The Voices are human and, in some ways, that makes then even, more dangerous. (17)
Happiness is the most natural thing in the world when you have it, and the slowest, strangest, most impossible thing when you don’t. (80)

rating

5/5

five-stars

5 Comments

  1. Alyssa Susanna

    October 14, 2012 at 7:25 AM

    I finished this book weeks ago, and loved it! It’s been on my TBR list for a reallyyy long time. I never thought I’d get around to reading it. There were definitely some parts of the book that I quickly read, in the attempt to finish the book. At the beginning, I could NOT get into the book. It took me many tries before I actually sat down and read the book cover to cover. But I’m glad I did. It was great. Thanks for the review!!!

  2. Grace Lo

    October 5, 2012 at 6:49 PM

    I am so obsessed with Partials! I loved the characters, plot line, and the relation between the Partials and humans! It’s definitely among my favourite dystopias. Can’t wait for Fragments.

  3. Steph

    February 11, 2012 at 6:23 PM

    Sounds very cool. I really want to read this.
    I appreciate that the new wave of the types of books being published are science fiction. I’m becoming a huge fan of it.
    Awesome review.

  4. Jason

    February 7, 2012 at 11:49 PM

    after watching the trailer and reading your review and description, I really want to pick up this book! you’re amazing baby, keep up the good work for Book Nerd 😀

  5. Natalie

    February 7, 2012 at 10:11 PM

    YAY! So glad you liked this one! I’ve been looking forward to it so knowing that you enjoyed means I probably will as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: