create
counter

Review: ‘Rooms’ by Lauren Oliver

I received this book for free from requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Rooms’ by Lauren OliverRooms by Lauren Oliver
Published by Harper Collins on September 23rd, 2014
Genres: Adult, Ghosts, Mystery, Paranormal, Thriller
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: requested from publisher
three-stars
The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

rooms_lauren-oliver_all

At first, I was hesitant about reading this only because it was about ghosts. But it ended up not being scary like a horror novel. Told in multiple point of views from the spirits to the living people, Rooms is a novel full of heartache and all of the terrible realities of life.

rooms_lauren-oliver_beginning

The story unravels bit by bit and when it does the picture gets clearer as to what truly happened between all the people in the house. The writing is very beautiful, and also very sad. The tone is not Lauren’s usual way and I like that it was different than her young adult novels. The added mystery as to how the spirits got there is also an fascinating piece to the entire plot. I found myself wanting to know how they died since it wasn’t revealed until the very end. What I liked the best was the characters stories and their progress and how they are weaved together. Other than the rich character development, and secrets, I was a tad bit bored. I wanted much more than just how they died and how they even got there. I needed something to keep me reading the pages.

rooms_lauren-oliver_first-page

Overall, make sure to grab this if you’re looking for a more mature adult read from Lauren Oliver.


reading progress

rooms_lauren-oliver_reading-progress


quotes

We can’t choose not to look, or smell, or feel. We just are, always. (24)
The last time I checked, death isn’t contagious. It isn’t an infection, you know. (27)
Life’s the sum total of all our small mistakes, little tragedies, bad choices. (190)
We’re all just a collection of wires pulled right, charged beyond capacity—a tangle of plugs and calves, waiting for a surge to take down the whole system. (222)

rating

3/5

three-stars

14 Comments

  1. Cynthia

    November 23, 2014 at 2:53 AM

    I have had this one on my Kindle for a while, but haven’t read it yet. I LOVED her Delirium series.

  2. Jaime Lynn

    November 17, 2014 at 10:32 PM

    Fantastic review, as usual. This books reviews have been all over the place, and I was already hesitant about reading it to begin with. I honestly don’t know if this is something that I would enjoy, but if it turns up in the library I may check it out.

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:40 PM

      Thanks so much Jaime! It’s beautiful writing, but with most adult books, I end up getting very bored quickly. This was the case for ROOMS unfortunately. Hope you have better luck than I did.

  3. Ebony @ Daring Damsels

    November 17, 2014 at 9:59 PM

    Thanks for a wonderful review! I haven’t read any Oliver before, but I am intrigued by several of her books, including this one.

  4. Sharon Rose

    November 17, 2014 at 6:29 PM

    I just won a copy of this book too! It hasn’t arrived yet but I’m looking forward to reading it. I’ve read reviews that absolutely loved and others that have been luke warm. Can’t wait to find out for myself!

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:38 PM

      It seems to be the consensus. I hope you enjoy it Sharon. There’s just something about her writing that draws you in.

  5. Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    November 17, 2014 at 4:38 PM

    I enjoyed this one as well. It wasn’t as amazing as some of her other books but very solid:)

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:37 PM

      Definitely agree. It was a solid read

  6. Cali W.

    November 17, 2014 at 1:15 AM

    Good review. I liked Delirium, but I didn’t like Panic. Maybe I will like this one.

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:37 PM

      YEAH give it a try. Who knows?

  7. Cait

    November 17, 2014 at 12:37 AM

    I literally just got this in the mail today but….but I thought it was a YA book. >_< Ahhh! I should've read the blurb more closely. I'm really not a fan of adult, but hopefully this might convert me?!! I've only read 1 Lauren Oliver book before this, so hopefully I'll adore this one!

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:36 PM

      Ahh it’s okay. I do that a lot too. It’s pretty good! I hope you adore it. I haven’t read all of her books either..even though I own most of them.

  8. Reisa

    November 17, 2014 at 12:06 AM

    I am really happy to hear it was nice! I will have to look into it! 😀

    Maybe after I read one of her YA titles though so I have an idea of how she stands on both sides!

    • giselle

      November 17, 2014 at 10:35 PM

      She is a pro at developing characters!

      Read DELIRIUM 😀

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: