create
counter

Review: Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Review: Shades of Earth by Beth RevisShades of Earth by Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #3
Published by Razorbill on January 15th, 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Space, Young Adult
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover
Source: bought in-store
five-stars
Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.

About Beth Revis

Beth Revis wrote her first books as a student in classrooms, when the professors did not hold her interest and she jotted down stories instead of taking notes.

Beth writes science fiction and fantasy novels for teens. Her debut novel, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, will be published by Razorbill/Penguin in Spring 2011. Beth is represented by Merrilee Heifetz at Writers House.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

What can I say about the last book in this epic series? I can say that it turned out to be my favourite of the trilogy. It also gave me different expectations than what I was predicting causing me to whoop with joy. Normally a book that ends either finishes strong or it leaves me with even more questions. Shades of Earth felt finished and I applaud Beth Revis for taking me on this journey.

Elder knows the unknown and is scared out of his mind. Having to be a leader on a strange new planet takes a toll on him and I happen to enjoy that not everything was perfect in their relationship, quite the opposite. Amy, on the other hand is excited to uncover the secrets of the new alien planet. And by uncovering the secrets that were being kept from her, she finds herself in the middle of a dangerous game that she must stop herself.

Beth Revis has stolen my heart and has made the Across the Universe trilogy one of my all-time favourites! Can’t wait to find out what her next projects are. Perfect for any science fiction or space journey fan!


quotes

I learned that life is so, so fragile. I learned that you can know someone for just days and never forget the impression he left on you. (61)

rating

5/5

five-stars

23 Comments

  1. Olena Protsiv (@oprots01)

    August 31, 2013 at 5:08 PM

    I’m glad you enjoyed this series. I haven’t had a chance to start it yet but it is on my TBR list. I have heard a lot of great things about this series 🙂

  2. Alex U.

    August 31, 2013 at 4:43 PM

    Thank you for the review! Across the Universe is sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, so I need to get on that!

  3. lillianharp

    August 31, 2013 at 3:26 PM

    A powerful quote! Sadly, I have not heard of this trilogy!! I’m off to research on the series now! Thanks for the review! ^-^

  4. fatma shahin

    August 28, 2013 at 1:47 PM

    this book has been on my TBR list for so long! definitely gotta go buy it and start reading it! I’ve heard so many amazing things about it 🙂

  5. Trix

    August 27, 2013 at 10:29 PM

    It’s out of my usual genre, but your review really piques my interest!

  6. bn100

    August 25, 2013 at 12:13 AM

    Haven’t read this; it sounds different

  7. dianadimovska1

    August 22, 2013 at 7:39 PM

    Can’t wait to start this! I’ve read so much about this series, hope I’ll get the chance to read it soon. 🙂

  8. Donna Durnell

    August 19, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    I have not read any of this trilogy. In fact, I think your review of this 3rd book is the first I’d heard of it. There are just so-o-o-o-o many books, and authors, out there that I can’t begin to read them all! But the synopsis, and your review here, has piqued my interest and I might just have to find the time to read the whole trilogy.

  9. Jun

    August 19, 2013 at 9:16 AM

    I just read the first book of this installment.

  10. Holly

    August 17, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    The ending to Shades of Earth was great – so much twists and turns. Though the last page of the book may be a bit cheesy, I still loved it nonetheless. Great review!

  11. eli yanti

    August 17, 2013 at 6:47 AM

    sounds a really good book, add to my TBR

  12. fatma shahin

    August 16, 2013 at 5:25 PM

    i definitely need to get started on this series! too bad they changed the cover of the last one though 🙁

  13. iceyasma

    August 15, 2013 at 10:22 AM

    *le sigh* I think I’m the only person who has yet to read this series.

    Great review!

  14. Rebecca Hipworth

    August 15, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    I really need to read this. I absolutely adored the other books in the series and I have a signed copy of Shades of Earth waiting for me to read. Thanks for the great review. 🙂

  15. Jaime Lynn

    August 8, 2013 at 10:50 PM

    I haven’t read this series yet, but from your high praise it seems that I need to get on it already. Thank you for your review!

  16. Jen (@BookWitchJen)

    August 8, 2013 at 9:47 AM

    I’m glad you liked it. I haven’t read it yet but I’m looking forward to it.

  17. January

    August 7, 2013 at 9:28 PM

    Awesome review! I loved the first one, but I haven’t had a chance to read the other two yet!

  18. Diana Grace

    August 6, 2013 at 8:42 AM

    I would love to read the series. Great review!

  19. Leigh @ Little Book Star

    August 6, 2013 at 5:09 AM

    Couldn’t agree with you more! This trilogy was just awesome and perfect. I felt like I was with Amy & Elder the whole time while reading Across the Universe, A Million Suns, & Shades of Earth. Although all of the books were spectacular, Shades of Earth was my least favorite b/c I just didn’t bought the love triangle and I still don’t know how I feel about the ending. But, the mystery was just awesome! It left me flipping the pages and reading it till 3am. It’s definitely a MUST read and I’ll re-read it over and over again. 🙂

    Leigh, LBS★

  20. maybe31

    August 3, 2013 at 6:34 PM

    I read the first book and was only so-so about it. Will try to read the rest of the trilogy after your glowing reviews….

  21. Elizabeth (@aftrnoonbkprty)

    August 3, 2013 at 6:16 PM

    I’ve only read Across the Universe so far but I enjoyed it so much! I can’t wait to find time to read the next two.

  22. Erika

    August 2, 2013 at 11:34 AM

    Also my favorite of the three books. This is the strongest finish to a series I’vread in a long time.

  23. Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    August 2, 2013 at 10:59 AM

    I have yet to read this one as I can’t decide what format to buy since the cover will not match my other two hardcovers! But I don’t think I can hold out much longer!! I need to know!! Great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: