create
counter

Review: ‘Someone Else’s Life’ by Katie Dale

I received this book for free from blog tours, requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Someone Else’s Life’ by Katie DaleSomeone Else's Life by Katie Dale
Published by Doubleday Canada on February 14th, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 453
Format: Hardcover
Source: blog tours, requested from publisher
five-stars
Fans of Jodi Picoult, Caroline B. Cooney, and Lurlene McDaniel--teens and adults alike--will relish this thrilling emotional rollercoaster ride as a web of family secrets brought to light devastates lives on both sides of the Atlantic.

When 17-year-old Rosie's mother, Trudie, dies from Huntington's disease, her pain is intensified by the knowledge that she has a fifty percent chance of inheriting the crippling disease herself. Only when Rosie tells her mother's best friend, "Aunt Sarah," that she is going to test for the disease does Sarah, a midwife, reveal that Trudie wasn't her real mother after all. Rosie was swapped at birth with a sickly baby who was destined to die.

Devastated, Rosie decides to find her birth mother in California. But all does not go as planned. As Rosie discovers yet more of her family's deeply buried secrets and lies, she is left with an agonizing decision of her own, one which will be the most heart breaking and far-reaching of all.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

What happens when the truth comes out?

We’re introduced to Rosie, whose mother just died of Huntington’s disease. The loss of her only parent is too much for Rosie, as her thoughts are painful memories of the way her mother was before the disease took over her body. She’s not alone because the boy that she loves Andy is there for her and together they go in a vacation. What Andy doesn’t know is that Rosie is looking for her real mother, her biological mother. Her mom’s best friend Sarah has told her the biggest secret of all, she was swapped at birth.

I absolutely devoured this book, just because I couldn’t stop reading it. When one problem was resolved, another popped right up! It was a little intense at times, knowing how some of the characters reacted. I admired Rosie, her tenacity to do the right thing always made her look like the “bad apple” to others, yet in spite of everything she has been through, she always came out stronger and wiser in the end. I couldn’t care for Molly’s character, even though I did pity her. She acted like a spoiled child, when things did not go her way.

What a heart warming tale of family relationships! You’ll love this tale! I know I did.


quotes

You are the decisions you make. The things you do. The people you love and who love you. They’re the things that really make you who you are.
The truth may hurt, but lies—they’re vicious. They hide coiled up inside you, ready to strike without warning, without your even knowing they’re there.

rating

5/5

five-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: