create
counter

Review: ‘The Goddess Inheritance’ by Aimee Carter

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Goddess Inheritance’ by Aimee CarterThe Goddess Inheritance by Aimée Carter
Series: Goddess Test #3
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 26th, 2013
Genres: Love & Romance, Mythology, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 303
Format: ARC
Source: NetGalley
three-stars
Love or life.
Henry or their child.
The end of her family or the end of the world.
Kate must choose.


During nine months of captivity, Kate Winters has survived a jealous goddess, a vengeful Titan and a pregnancy she never asked for. Now the Queen of the Gods wants her unborn child, and Kate can't stop her--until Cronus offers a deal.

In exchange for her loyalty and devotion, the King of the Titans will spare humanity and let Kate keep her child. Yet even if Kate agrees, he'll destroy Henry, her mother and the rest of the council. And if she refuses, Cronus will tear the world apart until every last god and mortal is dead.

With the fate of everyone she loves resting on her shoulders, Kate must do the impossible: find a way to defeat the most powerful being in existence, even if it costs her everything.

Even if it costs her eternity.

About Aimée Carter

Aimée Carter was born and raised in Michigan, where she currently resides. Her first novel for young adults, THE GODDESS TEST, will be published by Harlequin Teen on April 19th, 2011. The sequel, GODDESS INTERRUPTED, will follow in January 2012.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

May contain spoilers for the first two books: The Goddess Test and The Goddess Inheritance.

I find Kate to be whiny. She’ll say one thing then do the opposite. I’m not sure if I enjoyed this. Maybe I turned a blind eye (or ear in this case) but I can’t stand her annoying tirades. I do know that crying is a great way to relieve your stress but she cries a lot and I just wished she would do something about it. She is a flawed character and I liked that but I just forgot how terribly whiny she was. I liked how there was more Henry and Cronus in this one, and I also like how there was more action. I almost wished there were different perspectives so we could see what each of the characters were thinking!

The pacing in this one fell a little flat because I felt the beginning and the middle was ultimately gearing up for a huge finale and I can fully understand that but the ending felt rushed. I would have wanted it to be more fully fleshed out. It felt like a great dumping I an ending.

I pretty much forget which God and Goddess was which, since I read the second book over a year ago. I also had to look at my final copies for the list of their names so I could fully remember who was who. This is what happens when you read previous book a year or so ago.

Good enough but I felt her first two books were stronger. I’m still fully invested in Aimee’s writing because she can write romance rather well.

Characters
Loved the characters!

Pacing/Length
A little slow, but the length is just right!

Cover/Design
Loved the cover! It’s my favourite!

Plot
Loved the ending!

Overall, perfect for any romance fan!


quotes

You and me, together for all eternity. Imagine, my dear, the beauty we would create. (17)
Pure evil does not exist. Even Cronus has reasons for doing what he does, and the better we understand each other, the better chance we have at finding a solution before our foundation crumbles. (64)
I don’t need to be ancient to be worth something, and I’m doing this whether you like it or not. (68)
Inaction isn’t supporting peace. It’s turning a blind eye to what’s really going on. (97)
There is nothing I would not do to make you happy. Before I met you.
(166)
On the contrary, you’re a diamond. You shine under pressure. (203)
You can keep going down the easy path no matter where it takes you, everyone else be famed, or you can fight for what you believe in. (206)

rating

3/5

three-stars

11 Comments

  1. Say

    August 31, 2013 at 8:21 AM

    Originally.I wasnt interested in reading this book.But after reading your review,I might get a copy =)

  2. Trix

    August 29, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    Interesting to learn about the series–thanks for the review!

  3. Kim-Anh V

    August 15, 2013 at 9:11 AM

    Great review! Need to read this one…. =)

  4. Diana Grace

    August 11, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    Thanks for reviewing and sharing your thoughts with us! 🙂

  5. BookLady

    August 3, 2013 at 3:18 PM

    This is a new series for me. I enjoy books based on mythology and will check this one out. Thanks for sharing the great review.

  6. Rebecca Hipworth

    July 29, 2013 at 9:09 AM

    I haven’t started this series yet, but your review sounds promising. I wonder if this series is similar to the Everneath series by Brodi Ashton or if not, what sets the two apart?

  7. Erika

    July 27, 2013 at 6:05 PM

    I’m very excited to check out this series. I have this book on my shelf just need the other ones. Thanks for your thoughts!

  8. Jaime Lynn

    July 26, 2013 at 10:40 PM

    I enjoyed the first two books a lot. I actually started this one a few weeks ago, but ended up putting it down after just 4 chapters. I will read it eventually, but I hate it when a final book in a series that has been enjoyable, ends up being not quite up to par

  9. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    July 26, 2013 at 4:33 PM

    I love Greek myth, but sadly I haven’t gotten around to this series yet. I have heard some great things about it though. Sorry this one wasn’t as powerful as the first two books! And I also love this cover!

    Great review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

  10. Cali W.

    July 26, 2013 at 2:33 PM

    Great review! i haven’t read this last one yet. I love Greek Mythology. <3

  11. brandileigh2003

    July 26, 2013 at 9:44 AM

    So sorry this wasn’t as strong as the first, I need to read it and catch up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: