create
counter

Review: ‘The Last Best Kiss’ by Claire LaZebnik

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Last Best Kiss’ by Claire LaZebnikThe Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik
on April 22nd 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
two-stars
Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too....

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

I didn’t realize this was a Persuasion retelling until I saw the first line from Tiff @ Mostly YA Lit’s review. I’ve been meaning to read that for so long and I can tell this would be a modern retelling.

I don’t even know how to explain what I read. Other than the fact that we know what will happen because it’s very predictable. Boy and girl like each other. Girl humiliates boy. Boy comes back all hot and popular and ignores girl. And we try to guess if there’s a happily ever after??

The format isn’t anything new, and what would be a very interesting movie (maybe?) made for a very boring and dragging book to read. There was also SO MUCH dialogue. I honestly wanted to just DNF it but I’d been doing that lately and wanted to give this a chance. Other than annoying characters, a music festival and prom, literally nothing happens. It’s all about pining for someone you can’t have and I just can’t deal with contemporaries like this. I really couldn’t bother, and I pretty much skimmed right after the incident that happened at the hotel. As for characters? I found them pretty much all super annoying. Especially Lily. She had this air of being so careless and having everyone not care what she thinks didn’t really mean much. The only one that I really liked was Finn..who so happens to be cute and nerdy.

I think this would have been better if there was a story because it did have potential. Otherwise I saw skip it, you wouldn’t be missing much.


quotes

I knew I had a lot of power over him, I may even have thought it was infinite.
When are you going to realize that I’m not like you—I don’t care what other people think?
We do what everyone else does, even if it’s a mistake.
I love John Green as much as the next gay teen. But the whole manic-pixie-dream-girl thing? It gets a little annoying in real life.
I don’t know why you think I’m afraid of everything.

I’m not.

If she couldn’t stick up for me when it mattered, then she’s not someone I want to be with.
Just because you don’t doesn’t mean other people don’t. Not everyone has the exact same opinions as you.
You’d hate it if everyone thought like you. Then you couldn’t go around saying, ‘Look at me, I’m so special and unique and different.’
How can you trust someone who doesn’t stick by you when it matters?
People make mistakes. So long as they feel bad about them, they should be forgiven.
People should love whoever they want to love. Even if they’re both annoying. Especially if they’re both annoying. Because then they’re lucky to have found each other.
One girl’s perfect guy is another girl’s reject.

reading progress

the-last-best-kiss_claire-lazebnik_reading-progress


rating

2/5

two-stars

2 Comments

  1. Ella

    March 9, 2015 at 8:36 AM

    I remember almost DNF-ing this too. I agree, it had a lot of potential. I only finished reading this just for the sake of getting over it.

    • giselle

      March 9, 2015 at 11:59 AM

      So sad it had potential.. 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: