create
counter

Review: ‘The Widow’ by Fiona Barton

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Widow’ by Fiona BartonThe Widow by Fiona Barton
Published by Penguin Books Canada on February 16th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: publisher unsolicited
Goodreads
four-stars
A loving husband or a heartless killer...she'd know, wouldn't she?

There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with accusing glares and anonymous harassment. Now her husband is dead, and there's no reason to stay quiet. People want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything. For the reporter who has secured the exclusive interview, this is the scoop of a lifetime. For the detective who has lived a half-life since he failed to get justice for the victim, it is a chance to get at the truth that has eluded him for so long. For Jean, it's a chance to defend herself, what she knew--and when.

This is the tale of a missing child, narrated by the wife of the main suspect, the detective leading the hunt, and the journalist covering the case. It's a brilliantly ominous, psychologically acute portrait of a marriage in crisis--perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and The Girl on the Train.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


review

the-widow_fiona-barton_side

Another thriller from the likes of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. But what this book has is a pedophile. Tough can’t even begin to describe reading this. I teared up in one part and not because it was detailed or describing anything, just because I was thinking of all the evil that predators are out there preying on young children. And maybe that’s why this book is out there. To keep children safe and to know the dangers of the Internet.. *sighs*

the-widow_fiona-barton_title

There’s not a whole lot of characters to like unless you’re rooting for just one or two. Every character except maybe the Detective have moral compasses swinging one way or the other. The cruel media who don’t care they’re hurting people’s lives by getting people to buy their papers. The manipulation of a young woman by a “doting loving husband”, the excessive invasion of privacy by the media, the Sharks who lurk in Internet chat rooms, the mother who should be careful online and in real life..all these characters had their chance to tell a story.

the-widow_fiona-barton_first-page

But I possibly think that Glen was the worst. He is controlling scary manipulative puts blame on others and never himself. And he says things like the quote below to his own wife:

I hope you’re not letting yourself go. (125)

the-widow_fiona-barton_all

The writing style is similar to the two novels because it’s quick and straightforward. I had to put this down at one point because it ended up being about adults preying on children and I can’t for the life of me even begin to understand why. So I decided to just pull through and finish it. *sighs* It was a tough book to get through, and I saw the little twist in the beginning, but ultimately that ending was satisfying at least.

Now I know why there were Skittles in the evidence bag this book came in. *cries*


quotes

The thing is that people who lie often have something to hide. (72)
Quiet types make me nervous. (98)
I kept saying to myself. Not his fault. (156)

reading progress

the-widow_fiona-barton_reading-progress


rating

4/5

four-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: