create
counter

Review: ‘Under the Never Sky’ by Veronica Rossi

I received this book for free from requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Under the Never Sky’ by Veronica RossiUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky #1
Published by HarperCollins on January 3rd, 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Love & Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 374
Format: ARC
Source: requested from publisher
four-stars
Since she'd been on the outside, she'd survived an Aether storm, she'd had a knife held to her throat, and she'd seen men murdered.

This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland--known as The Death Shop--are slim. If the cannibals don't get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She's been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He's wild--a savage--and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile--everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria's help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

About Veronica Rossi

Veronica Rossi is a best selling author of fiction for young adults. Her debut novel, UNDER THE NEVER SKY, was the first in a post-apocalyptic trilogy. Released in January 2012, it was deemed one of the Best Books of Year by School Library Journal. The series appeared in the NY Times and USA Today best seller lists and was published in over 25 foreign markets.

Her second series for young adults will begin with RIDERS (published February 16, 2016), the story of four modern day teens who become incarnations of the four horsemen of the apocalypse, and the prophetic girl who brings them together.

Veronica completed her undergraduate studies at UCLA and then went on to study fine art at the California College of the Arts in San Francisco. She is a lifelong reader and artist. Born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, she has lived in Mexico, Venezuela, and all over the United States, to finally settle in Northern California with her husband and two sons.

When not writing, Veronica enjoys reading (it’s worth repeating), painting, and running. She does NOT like anything involving numbers, the addition of them, subtraction of them, you name it. They terrify her. Her obsessions generally lead to fictional works. Currently, she’s exploring New York City during the Revolutionary War.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Set in the future, Aria, a 17 year old Dweller lives in Reverie, full of smarteyes, realms and Aether storms. The Aether causes the mutations found in the Outside world which is why Perry, a Scire Outsider has two different senses: The ability to see in the dark, and sensing people’s emotions by sense of smell. He lives with the tribe called the Tides. We follow both teens as they scamper to find a way to survive, answers to their heritage, action, adventure and a bit of romance along the way.

WARNING: May contain some spoilers for the first half of the book

Aria and her best friend Paisley are goofing off with Soren and a couple of his buddies. Soren is a code breaker whose dad is part of the council and is in charge of security. Highly intelligent, but also capable of dangerous feats he creates a realm of a forest where he creates a fire. A fire inside AG 6 would most likely burn it to the ground. For reasons unknown to Aria, Soren goes a tad savage and starts to act violent. Aria starts to record him doing all these indecent acts for proof she witnessed these horrible events. The moment she gets into trouble, her hero Perry rescues her, beats up Soren and his two goons, and takes her to safety. Perry ends up stealing her smart-eye for leverage.

Counsel Hess (Soren’s father) talks with Aria and little is exchanged, althugh she is questioned. She thinks it was a misunderstanding and will be punished lightly, but she ends up being banished and dumped outside of the pod.

On the flipside, the book now turns to Perry who deals with his brother the Blood Lord and his nephew Talon. Talon is sick and will only live for a little while, so he takes Talon to go hunt. They get ambushed by Dwellers and Talon is kidnapped.

Perry goes back to the Tides where he tells his brother what happened. Vale is furious and Perry flees from his brother’s rath. He meets Aria and together they seek help to fix her smarteye so she can contact her mother and gain knowledge of Talon’s whereabouts. They tease each other back forth, her being a Dweller and him being an Outsider. Their mission is to get Marron, Perry’s friend who will fix her smart-eye. Along the way they encounter many types of people, a wanderer, and even the Croven (cannibals! yikes!).

I won’t divulge anymore of the plot just because I truly don’t want to spoil the story for anyone. I rather enjoyed the book, minus the confusion in the beginning and why the characters do the things they do. I love the point of view from both Aria and Perry just because it made it so much more interesting. Besides the fact that I love it when an author writes from the guy’s POV because it’s rare in YA fiction. This book has movie rights already sold and I can definitely see this being a movie because of the ongoing story, characters and setting. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.


rating

4/5

four-stars

10 Comments

  1. Jun

    August 25, 2013 at 9:47 AM

    I read the prequel and, yeah, I think this series got my attention but… it must wait till I had finish my other dystopia book 😛 *too many books, too little time

  2. Karen Maldonado

    August 15, 2013 at 1:28 AM

    I love the Under the Never Sky books. Great Review.

  3. bhwrn1

    August 12, 2013 at 6:26 AM

    LOVE this series…Perry…sighs….

  4. Cali W.

    July 20, 2013 at 5:42 PM

    Great review! I really liked this book. I like how the characters had special talents with hearing and seeing and I like how it wasn’t instant love. <3

  5. Kara

    February 16, 2013 at 11:36 PM

    I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read this book or not, but now that i’ve read what you think about it, I’m going to give it a try! Thanks for reviewing this so I know when I should read a certain book!

  6. leighmarbella

    January 25, 2013 at 12:05 PM

    I loved this book sooooo much. I’ve read it for the nth time last week in preparation for its sequel. Awesome review btw.

  7. Cassi

    November 2, 2012 at 3:44 PM

    Oh sounds good! I have this one on my shelf, but I haven’t gotten to it yet… it’s officially on rush now, though 🙂

  8. Alyssa Susanna

    October 19, 2012 at 12:06 PM

    I love this book sooooo much!!!! It’s amazing!!!! Like a breath of fresh air. I love the technology incorporated in this book, especially when the Smarteye is something that scientists are already looking into. So far, there doesn’t seem to be a love triangle, which is AWESOME!!!! I despise love triangles. I was a little afraid with Roar and Aria, but he loves Liv. And then I was afraid with Perry and Brooke, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. I like the journey feel of this book. It’s different from other books that also have the journey setting. And I love Aria, and Perry. They are strong, likable, imperfect characters. Ms. Rossi did an amazing job with this book! I hope Through the Ever Night and Into the Still Blue are just as or even more amazing!!!! Thanks for the review!!!

  9. Samual

    December 4, 2011 at 10:39 AM

    I’ve heard a lot of people feature and read this book. I like the cover! The story sure sounds very interesting! Great review! It’s good you include your cover thoughts and the author! Thank you for sharing!

    Sam
    Books For All Seasons

  10. Evie

    December 1, 2011 at 4:44 PM

    I’ve seen this one around on many blogs. People were saying awesome thing about it! I’m very excited for it and knowing that it has the movie rights already sold makes me even more eager to get a copy asap! 🙂 Fab review, hun!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: