create
counter

Review: ‘Uninvited’ by Sophie Jordan

I received this book for free from Edelweiss, requested from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Uninvited’ by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Published by HarperTeen on January 28th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Dystopian, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, requested from publisher
three-stars
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

The Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoBook OutletGood Reads


review

uninvited_sophie-jordan_all

Davy is a musical genius. She’s a popular girl with a cute boyfriend, gets good grades and is overall a perfect daughter. When she tests positive for HTS, her entire world is ripped upside down. Facing a society where she is branded as a killer is no easy task. Will Davy keep denying who she really is or will she succumb to the violence within?

uninvited_sophie-jordan_beginning

The entire concept behind a pre-mediated murder is nothing new. I’ve seen it in Minority Report. But what happens when a good girl is now marked as a killer? Davy’s character goes through such a transformation that I hardly recognized her as the musical genius she really was all her life. I loved that aspect of the book. She struggles so hard with trying to be someone she’s not and that part alone grabbed my attention. The romance was slow and the attraction was instantaneous but I liked it nonetheless. Sean is your bad boy with a good heart and I really wanted to know more about him. We get bits and pieces but not a whole lot was given. The story develops slowly and when I mean slow, I mean painstakingly slow that I wanted to stop reading altogether. It didn’t gather my attention as I hoped it would, but I did end up finishing it anyway. I hated how the females were treated in the book. Like they were only there for a man’s pleasure as an object and not as a human being. It frustrated me to no end. I also wanted to know more behind the Wainwright agency but that was only sectioned to mini glances between chapters.

uninvited_sophie-jordan_first-page

Overall, an interesting premise and world but the story needed something more to grab my interest.


reading progress

uninvited_sophie-jordan_reading-progress


quotes

He’s proven himself dangerous and they’re into him. (77)
The person doesn’t matter. It’s no longer who. It’s what. (79)
Who are you to decide where I can and can’t go? (105)
You can’t let this define you…beat you. (180)
She makes me sound like livestock. Not a person. Not human. (233)
I can’t pretend you don’t exist for me. (331)
I won’t be anyone’s pawn again. (336)

rating

3/5

three-stars

3 Comments

  1. Nova @ Out of Time

    January 18, 2015 at 6:08 PM

    I actually heavily disliked this one. I felt like most of it was filler and the ending was supposed to be exciting because it was a cliffhanger but because I didn’t care about the story, i felt nothing. i’m glad you enjoyed it though. i can see where it appeals to people, i really liked Jordan’s firelight series

    • giselle

      January 18, 2015 at 10:17 PM

      I can definitely understand where you’re coming from. It was a filler and I was a little bored with it too. I just really like the concept of isolating the killing gene. Crazy!

  2. Megan McDade

    January 18, 2015 at 2:05 PM

    This sounds like an interesting read!

    Megan @ http://www.readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: