create
counter

Review: ‘Wedding Night’ by Sophie Kinsella and Contest Giveaway

I received this book for free from agency review pitch in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Wedding Night’ by Sophie Kinsella and Contest GiveawayWedding Night by Sophie Kinsella
Published by Dial Books on April 23rd, 2013
Genres: Adult, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Love & Romance
Pages: 446
Format: Hardcover
Source: agency review pitch
four-stars
“Sophie Kinsella is beloved by millions—her books are properly mood-altering. Wedding Night is funny, fast, and farcical. I loved it.”—JoJo Moyes, bestselling author of Me Before You

#1 New York Times bestselling author Sophie Kinsella returns with her trademark blend of sparkling wit and playful romance in this page-turning story of a wedding to remember—and a honeymoon to forget.

Lottie just knows that her boyfriend is going to propose, but then his big question involves a trip abroad—not a trip down the aisle. Completely crushed, Lottie reconnects with an old flame, and they decide to take drastic action. No dates, no moving in together, they’ll just get married . . . right now. Her sister, Fliss, thinks Lottie is making a terrible mistake, and will do anything to stop her. But Lottie is determined to say “I do,” for better, or for worse.

Amazon CanadaThe Book DepositoryChapters/IndigoGood Reads


review

Lottie seems to decide on doing rash decisions whenever her life takes a nosedive, and when she thinks her boyfriend is going to propose but doesn’t, she’s devastated. Then her ex-boyfriend comes back into her life and they decide to act on their pact. Marry if you’re still single by age thirty. Fliss on the other hand wants Lottie to come back to reality. With the help of Ben’s best friend Lorcan, they fly to Ikonos to stop their wedding night from happening.

You know when you have characters that do stupid things and you want to tell them no but can’t help but find out why happens to them afterwards? That’s Lottie and Fliss. Two sisters who are best friends and want to protect each other from their problems. I found them just as hilarious as all the characters from Sophie’s array of books and I can’t help but laugh out loud when you know their problems are going to blow up in their faces. This one ended off quite nicely, and I could see this one being inspired for a movie.

Full of funny twist and turns, Wedding Night will have you laughing and smiling all at the same time. An inspiring and witty story that will have any Sophie Kinsella fan adding it to their collection!

Characters
Love the sisterly relationship that was the main focus of the story.

Pacing/Length
Just right.

Cover/Design
Very cute! Love the vector design.

Plot
I loved the plot and how it ended.

Overall, an inspiring and witty story that will have any Sophie Kinsella fan adding it to their collection.


quotes

Life gets in the way of dreams. Dreams get in the way of life. (357)
I was instantly banished to the company of two Russian women with plumped-up lips and boobs. They’re so puffed up up with silicone they make me think of balloon animals. (414)

contest giveaway



rating

4/5

four-stars

47 Comments

  1. Pingback: Featured: 2013 End of Year Book Survey - BO-OK NERD CANADA – Young Adult, Children and Adult Book Reviews

  2. ruthbookshelf

    September 25, 2013 at 4:14 AM

    haven’t read any sophie’s book yet, but this one will be added to my wishlist because your good review 🙂

  3. fatma shahin

    August 28, 2013 at 1:48 PM

    Sophie Kinsella is the queen! Love her books so much. 🙂

  4. Estela S

    August 22, 2013 at 5:05 PM

    I read Confessions of a SHopaholic and loved it.

  5. Cyril Valencia

    August 19, 2013 at 6:13 PM

    I love love love The Twenties Girl. 🙂

  6. florryalyna

    August 17, 2013 at 3:45 AM

    I love Sophie’s books. I guess I’d love this one too, especially because will remember of my own wedding night.

  7. Book nerd. (@RenzRupert)

    August 16, 2013 at 10:02 PM

    This is a cute book! I definitely recommend this one.

  8. esined615

    August 16, 2013 at 12:26 PM

    I love the whole Shopiholic series!

  9. Ashtrie K Putrie

    August 16, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    I have the Indonesian translation of this book, but I can’t get the feeling for this book. Maybe I’m just not in the mood for this ;p

  10. Diana Grace

    August 13, 2013 at 9:21 AM

    I have never read any Sophie Kinsella books… maybe I’ll start with this one! 🙂

  11. Maggie

    August 11, 2013 at 10:15 PM

    I’ve read quite a few of Sophie Kinsella’s books. Great books to read on the cardio machines. My favourite was Undomestic Goddess.

  12. billiondollarprincesss

    August 11, 2013 at 1:27 AM

    I have read them all. The first Shopaholic book is my fave.

  13. Marlene Unruh

    August 10, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I loved the Shopaholic series, one of my favourite authors!

  14. Natalie

    August 10, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    I read the whole Shopaholic series between classes at university when my brilliant brain ran out of things to study 😉 Loved them all!

  15. Jeannie

    August 10, 2013 at 1:05 AM

    I have read so many of them and I think my fav. is definitely the shopaholic series.

  16. Kris

    August 4, 2013 at 3:57 AM

    I loved the tire Shopoholic Series…hilarious.

  17. Ghada Jeguirim

    August 3, 2013 at 9:50 PM

    i’ve never read any of Sophie Kinsella’s books , but i heard good opinions about them so i’d like to try reading some of her books sometimes !!

  18. Jolene A

    July 31, 2013 at 12:21 PM

    I love Sophie Kinsella and I’ve read most of her books. My favorite so far is Remember Me?

  19. Cialina

    July 26, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    I’ve read Can You Keep a Secret? but I’ve been wanting to read more!!!

  20. Cali W.

    July 24, 2013 at 4:34 PM

    Never read one, but this book sounds cute! <3

  21. Lisa (Lost in Literarure)

    July 23, 2013 at 5:55 PM

    I’ve read quite a few Kinsella books, though not this one yet. I enjoyed them all… Especially the Shopaholic series. 🙂

  22. Bons

    July 23, 2013 at 3:21 AM

    I’ve never read any of Sophie’s book but would love to!

  23. Grace Li

    July 23, 2013 at 2:31 AM

    My favourite book by Kinsella is I’ve Got Your Number!!!!!!! That was the best one in my opinion with all the funny text messages too =) I should go read it again now. Hehe

  24. Dina

    July 22, 2013 at 12:39 AM

    My favorite is I’ve got your number.Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  25. bn100

    July 21, 2013 at 11:15 PM

    No, I haven’t

  26. Darith L.

    July 21, 2013 at 5:58 PM

    No, I’ve never read any. But I’d like to read one soon. 😀

  27. Lisa

    July 20, 2013 at 12:36 PM

    I’ve never read a Sophie Kinsella book before. I always hear so much about I’ve Got Your Number and have been tempted to read it several times, but for the most part I hardly hear of her. (But I’m mostly in the YA realm of books, of course.)

  28. Jeanne

    July 20, 2013 at 6:38 AM

    I haven’t but this one would be a great way to start. Thanks for the giveaway.

  29. Ashleigh Swerdfeger (@AshleighSwerdfe)

    July 20, 2013 at 1:14 AM

    I enjoyed the Shopaholic series and loved Remember Me?

  30. Jaime Lynn

    July 19, 2013 at 10:16 PM

    This is definitely not the type of book that I usually read, but something about it intrigues me. I can only imagine what my sister would do if I decided to jump on a plane and elope with an ex. Not well. Not well at all. Especially considering that I am quite the happily married gal!

  31. bookaholicholly

    July 19, 2013 at 8:41 PM

    I haven’t read any of her books, but I did quite enjoy the “Shopaholic” film based on her series.

  32. Linh

    July 19, 2013 at 7:55 PM

    Haven’t read anything by Sophie Kinsella yet but this one sounds really interesting!

  33. Natasha

    July 19, 2013 at 6:46 PM

    I haven’t read anything by her yet.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  34. Maida @ Literary Love Affair

    July 19, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    I haven’t read a Sophie Kinsella book yet, but this one seems like a good place to start. It sounds really fun and interesting. Glad you enjoyed this! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

  35. Jillyn

    July 19, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    I love Sophie’s books. My favorite is a toss up between Undomestic Goddess and I’ve Got Your Number.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  36. THE SELF-TAUGHT COOK

    July 19, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    I thought I had, but having looked through the list on her website, I’m not sure which one. They all look good, though.

  37. Amanda D

    July 19, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    I’ve read quite a few Sophie Kinsella books. While I loved the Shopaholic series, my favorite surprisingly turned out to be I’ve Got Your Number. I would love to see another book about Poppy.

  38. Maria

    July 19, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    I’ve read all of them and my fave was Remember Me?

  39. Teresa Salvatore

    July 19, 2013 at 12:00 PM

    I’ve read a few of Sophie Kinsella’s books and they’re all a great read. I find them fast, fun, and lighthearted. My favourites are: Confessions of a Shopaholic, Remember Me?, and Undomestic Goddess. It’s been a while since I’ve read one though. Looking forward to picking this one up.

  40. maybe31

    July 19, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    Shopaholics! The first one was really funny!

  41. Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    July 19, 2013 at 10:48 AM

    I’ve only read one Kinsella book – I’ve Got Your Number – and I was completely charmed…so witty and fun! I’d love to ead another and this one sounds perfect!

  42. Bonnie Hilligoss

    July 19, 2013 at 10:36 AM

    I’m sure I have read something by Sophie because her name is so familiar, but it’s been a while ago and I don’t remember the title(s). This one sounds really good! Thank you for the chance to win it!!

  43. Wayne Lecoy

    July 19, 2013 at 10:04 AM

    I am entering your giveaway.
    It would be great to win a copy of Wedding Night By Sophie Kinsella.
    In response to your question of Have you read any Sophie Kinsella book?
    If so, which is your favourite?
    No i haven’t read any of her books yet but i enjoy reading and discovering new authors.
    Thank you for having this giveaway!!!!!!!!

  44. Lori P

    July 19, 2013 at 3:44 AM

    I haven’t read any of Sophie Kinsella’s books yet but I certainly see them everywhere. Must start exploring them soon.

  45. Sumera Mahmood

    July 19, 2013 at 3:27 AM

    I haven’t yet, but from the summary of this novel, I just might start soon!

  46. Misty Rios

    July 19, 2013 at 1:26 AM

    I haven’t had the pleasure yet but I hope to soon 🙂

  47. Christinabean

    July 19, 2013 at 12:15 AM

    I love Sophie books. They are the perfect pick me up when I want to laugh out loud. Thanks for the giveaway!

    • Christinabean

      July 19, 2013 at 12:17 AM

      BTW, my FAVOURITE book by Sophie is Undomestic Goddess. I laugh out loud every time I read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: