create
counter

Review: ‘What’s Left of Me’ by Kat Zhang

I received this book for free from publisher unsolicited in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘What’s Left of Me’ by Kat ZhangWhat's Left of Me by Kat Zhang
Series: The Hybrid Chronicles #1
Published by HarperTeen on September 1st 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Mystery, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Format: ARC
Source: publisher unsolicited
Goodreads
two-stars
I should not exist. But I do.

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads


 

review

Two souls inside one body. One soul is recessive and the other is dominant. The book is narrated from the recessive soul’s point of view, Eva. All her life, she’s had to watch Addie grow up, and live her life. Not being able to control their shared body takes a toll on Eva, and so does their sisterly relationship.

It was definitely scary to think of what could happen to the girls if they were found out. It was completely nail biting when they would be communicating with other characters on the page, and you’re thinking, “Don’t give anything away. Don’t act like there’s two souls inside you!” Then there’s the lack of plot and the lack of the setting. There’s no history as to why these hybrids exist. It’s automatically assumed that’s how the world is. I couldn’t enjoy it. The pacing was unbelievably slow and I couldn’t help but want to stop reading. Eventually I did keep reading to find out if anything did happen. And yes something interesting finally did in the end. Although I read the first one, I’m not anxious to pick up the second one.

I had such high hopes for this one. I thought it sounded amazeballs. I thought it was going to be compelling, but sadly I was mistaken. I was sucked into the hype that surrounded this novel, and I couldn’t help but be sad. There was so much promise. So much potential. I wanted the book to go the extra mile, to make it great, but it just fell flat. Pick this one up if you’re interested in developed character relationships. Don’t read if you’re looking for action or suspense.


book trailer



rating

2/5

two-stars

21 Comments

  1. Christiane C.

    November 24, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    Even though most people here find this book disappointing, I will still try and then make my decision whether or not I like it, Thanks for your honest review.

  2. MaijaS

    November 24, 2012 at 11:22 AM

    I think it`d be the huge new bestseller of 2012 and 2013, it really looks and sounds like a great book.
    I can`t wait to get my hands on this book 🙂

  3. craftgirl83

    November 23, 2012 at 7:25 AM

    Thank you for the honest review. Judging by the blurb, the book sounds amazing. I’m a bit sad to hear that it doesn’t deliver on that promise.
    This is why I like review sites that really say what they think.

  4. Rebecca

    November 22, 2012 at 6:51 PM

    I’ve heard mixed revies about What’s Left Of Me and am still a bit on the fence. I like action and suspense but I’ve heard the relationship between the girls is lovely so I’ll have to see. Great review, I’m just sorry it disappointed you, especially since you were so looking forward to it.

  5. Bree

    November 22, 2012 at 8:33 AM

    I’ve had this book on my TBR for quite some time…now I’m not sure if it’ll make it near the top, or if it’s one that is destined to stay on the TBR forever (or at least until the hype dies down and I randomly stumble across it again)…

  6. Mel@thedailyprophecy

    November 21, 2012 at 2:37 PM

    Now that’s a shame! I’m really excited to read this book because of the unique promise, but I will keep in mind that it might not be as good as expected. Thanks for the honesty.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  7. Dorothy Reading

    November 21, 2012 at 3:48 AM

    That trailer REALLY makes me want to read this. How disappointing that you should find it so lacking. It speaks to how we must all feel sometimes, looking at someone else’s life. It takes it to the extreme that feeling of helplessness as you watch someone else living a life you want. Man, I really want to read that book. But the book in my head is probably so much better.

  8. Jaime Lester

    November 20, 2012 at 11:29 PM

    Well, crap that is seriously disappointing. What’s Left of Me has been on my Must-Read ASAP list since its earlier days on the net. Now, I am incredibly worried about it. I trust your reviews, so I am just not sure that this one is going to be a good read for me or not. I still want to read it, and give it a fair chance, but I definitely won’t be going into it with high hopes. I reckon that really isn’t a bad thing, though. Thanks for the review!

  9. Sarah O

    November 20, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    Oh no! I thought this one sounded cool and obviously has a pretty great cover. That’s really disappointing, but it’s also why you read reviews from bloggers you trust. I think the best part of books with a hook concept is finding out the backgrounds of those worlds, so I can’t even imagine a book not getting into that. Ugh. Well, maybe I’ll see if my library has this one eventually. There are a lot more books I want to read so I’m not too sad.

  10. Ashley @ Book Labyrinth

    November 20, 2012 at 10:33 PM

    That’s too bad it was disappointing! It’s weird how there wasn’t much going on. :/

  11. Brent

    November 20, 2012 at 9:12 PM

    great review

  12. Tiff- Escaping... One Book @ a Time

    November 20, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    Hmmm… I have been so on the fence about this one. I loved the cover and yet the description didn’t quite pull me in. Interesting enough but not quite enough to say BUY ME! Reading how many people found it hard to read and all of the little things worry me that I may be let down as well. Maybe one day I will try it but not now…. Thank you for the honest review <3

  13. Jen (A Reading Daydreamer)

    November 20, 2012 at 6:45 PM

    I’m not surprised you didn’t like the book, Giselle! I don’t think you’re alone in your opinions, either. I have seen so many negative reviews for this super-hyped up book! It’s so sad to hear that this book was really slow-paced. I’m still interested in picking it up for the sake of my own thoughts on this book though. Fabulous review!

  14. Devon

    November 20, 2012 at 5:10 PM

    Sad to hear that you didnt enjoy the read. I’m still gonna read it though. I normally don’t read many reviews before i read a book and if a perosn dosen’t enjoy it i still read it because everyone’s taste and enjoyment of a book is different. Hope the second book is better.

  15. Holly B

    November 20, 2012 at 1:50 PM

    Aww, noooo!! Honestly, this is one of the books that I have most been looking forward to this year! I JUST started it last night!!! (only about 10-20 pages in yet) Shucks. Sounds like Ashley agreed with you too. I was really hoping for action on this one – or at LEAST some good information behind the hybrids and why they supposedly destroyed the countries outside of the one in which Addie lives, and how the hybrids even came about, ie, when did people start being born with two souls?? Sounds like a lot of that information just isn’t included… Well crud. Considering how many other books I have on my “immediate TBR” list, I wonder if I should just return this one to the library…

  16. Megan

    November 20, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    This one sounds so cool, so I’m pretty sad that you didn’t enjoy it.

  17. Tiff @ Mostly YA Lit

    November 20, 2012 at 11:52 AM

    That sucks, Giselle. That concept sounded so cool. I’m sad that it didn’t pan out.

  18. Carol

    November 20, 2012 at 9:34 AM

    Sounds like an interesting storyline. Too bad you didn’t fully enjoyed it =( I don’t know if I should try it or not, I think I will wait and see..

  19. Zino

    November 20, 2012 at 8:00 AM

    Shame you didn’t like this one. I haven’t read it yet but it’s been on my TBR pile for a while. However, I’ve read mixed reviews about this and I don’t like the part about the book being slow paced, I’m really loving action packed novels right now. However, I still think I’ll give it a go. I’m curious to read and see whether or not I’ll enjoy it 🙂

  20. Karina A.

    November 20, 2012 at 6:42 AM

    Aww. I was excited for this one. Another disappointing book.

  21. Ashley

    November 20, 2012 at 12:11 AM

    I agree with your review 100%. Loads of people love this book so it’s nice to find someone with similar thoughts!

    What’s Left of Me was one of my most highly anticipated autumn reads. I also thought it sounded amazing, unique, and all kinds of epic. Unfortunately, I couldn’t even finish it. I gave up. It was slow, boring, not grabbing me at all, and I didn’t feel invested in the story it characters. I think I only made it 60 pages before stopping. Huge bummer!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: