create
counter

Review: ‘Catalyst’ by Lydia Kang

I received this book for free from agency review pitch in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Catalyst’ by Lydia KangCatalyst by Lydia Kang
Series: Control #2
Published by Kathy Dawson Books on March 24th, 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover
Source: agency review pitch
Goodreads
four-stars
For fans of Uglies and The Maze Runner comes a complex, thrill-filled love story that will make you question exactly what it means to be human

In the past year Zel lost her father, the boy she loves, her safety, and any future she might have imagined for herself. Now she, her sister, and the band of genetic outcasts they've come to call their family are forced on the run when their safe house is attacked by men with neural guns. But on the way to a rumored haven in Chicago, Zel hears something--a whisper from Cy, the boy who traded himself for her sister's safety. And when she veers off plan in order to search for him, what she finds is not what she expected. There's more to their genetic mutations than they ever imagined...aspects that make them wonder if they might be accepted by the outside world after all.

Chapters/IndigoThe Book DepositoryAmazon CanadaGood Reads

review

catalyst_lydia-kang_side

What can I say about this sequel except that it pretty much made me think about the future and the policies society takes on genetic mutations. It’s a future that could happen, and I couldn’t help but wonder if this is way it could go.

catalyst_lydia-kang_title

There’s just so much science can do, but when you’re reading a fictional story about people that are being born with gifts and mutations, all one would think is X-Men right? And that’s what I felt like, but at the same time it wasn’t the fact that these characters were heroes. They were trying to survive. I loved the expanded world that was brought with this journey. Especially when they’re in the town called Inky. I knew right away it wasn’t going to be a good settlement. Things aren’t perfect, because there’s always a deeper meaning to societies like those. I loved that there was a mystery involved, and even though it was a little predictable, I still enjoyed it. As for the characters, I just love that we get to see different sides to some secondary characters that I pretty much disliked, but at the same time understood because they were on opposite sides of the same time, if that makes sense. Caliga was pretty much my favourite, sorry Zel. Also, unlike Control, this one doesn’t have very much romance, There’s a lot of scientific terminologies, but it’s easier to understand when you’re reading in dialogue.

catalyst_lydia-kang_first-page

If you like science fiction, be sure to pick this one up! A journey that will have you wondering who is going to betray who, and what it means to be human and to survive.

catalyst_lydia-kang_all

quotes

Just because it’s beautiful doesn’t mean it can’t hurt you. (13)
You try to touch me, you’ll be missing body parts soon. (106)
There is no such thing as truth in this century, (140)
What’s the point of being created to be special when you’ve also been given a unique way to be to tortured too? (161)
It will never be yours to take. From any girl. Ever. (275)

reading progress

the-sin-eaters-daughter_melinda-salisbury_reading-progress

rating

4/5

four-stars

6 Comments

  1. MIchelle @ Book Briefs

    March 27, 2015 at 2:44 PM

    First of all, I love that you include your reading progress! Second, I am really liking the new look of your blog (sorry if it isn’t that new!)

    I have been dying to read this. But I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    Great Review!

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    • giselle

      March 27, 2015 at 4:19 PM

      Ooh thanks! Sometimes the reading statuses make the book even better because you get to read what the person is thinking at certain points in the book. Ah thanks! I’m just experimenting and don’t know if I’ll keep it. I always change my mind. I really liked it! Thanks for reading my review Michelle 🙂

  2. Zen DiPietro

    March 27, 2015 at 11:00 AM

    I hadn’t heard of this series and it sounds really interesting. I’ve put a library hold on Control. 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    • giselle

      March 27, 2015 at 4:17 PM

      Whoo! I hope you like. If you like science fiction, you’ll like it

  3. The Cover Contessa

    March 27, 2015 at 10:00 AM

    I’m not going to read your review b/c I haven’t read these books yet, but the publisher did send them to me, so I’ll be getting to them soon. I’m glad to see you gave this a 4, though. That gives me great hope!

    • giselle

      March 27, 2015 at 4:16 PM

      Yay! I loved CONTROL too! They were both so good. Hope you like it too

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: